We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money”

The Kitchen Brasserie
Ranked #15 of 260 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Value For Money”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The restaurant is located in a very new and modern building right next to the river. It has 3 floors with a small but nice balcony on top floor. The view is great with the Inverness castle across the river. Staff was very friendly and welcoming, service very fast. We had the early evening menu (starter and main for 9.95GBP) which was great value for money. The food was cooked excellently and I'd definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meniha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    524
    184
    90
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We struggled to find restaurants in Inverness at first as they all seemed to be completely tacky or just a little to expensive. This fell in to the second category at first, but the bill came to under £60 for the two of us which is fine for a special evening!

We both had the soup to begin which was nice but not overly-special. We were both drinking the house white which was exactly what we were after. For the mains my partner ordered the monkfish off the menu and I ordered the sea bass of the specials board stuffed with stir-fry and crayfish. He really enjoyed his meal and it was cooked really well, but I absolutely loved mine. It was the best thing I've eaten all year!

The service was up and down. One waitress in particular was awkward and quiet, and the man who took our reservation over the phone was even slightly rude, but the waitresses who served us dinner were absolutely lovely and funny which made up for it!

We dined on the second floor, up steep stairs, with views looking to the castle over the river. It wasn't a great view because it was pouring it down, but it's still a great location.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Clearly aiming for a standard of food and service that is easily found in other cities in Scotland, however lack of attention to detail, average food and cold service mean the sister restaurant of the capable Mustard Seed unfortunately hits some way of the mark.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“SUPERB SUNDAY LUNCH!”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My husband Neil and I went to the Kitchen for Sunday lunch. It was superb. Staff as always very friendly and helpful food very good and plenty of it. Wonderful views across the Ness. I have been before and will go again.
MARGARET

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magneil31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent ingredients perfectly cooked”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Late arrival in Inverness led to a frantic hunt for somewhere to eat. Eventually arrived at The Kitchen where after an initial " no room at the inn" the front of house took pity on a hungry traveller and a table was found. I then had probably the freshest, tastiest scallops I have ever eaten - superb. I followed with a sirloin steak, cooked as requested and again very, very good. The quality of the ingredients was certainly up there with the best as was the cooking. Simply good food very well cooked. Oops forgot to mention that the service was pretty good too !

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crossman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Kitchen Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing