We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic”
Review of The Clachan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 19 Wick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham Victoria Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Elspeth was the most caring host you could want. Our room was excellent The bed first class and her husband even went the extra mile for us. If you want a first class breakfast this is the place for you. I can't say enough good things about it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieChrisMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
154
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying here was a great experience and one we'll recommend to friends.
The room was in a private section of the house so no 'staying in someone's spare room' feel.
We had to leave for an early train and on explaining we'd have to miss breakfast were told that 'That's not a problem' and were served a leisurely very early ( and very good) breakfast, taken to the station and given cake to eat on the train journey......WOW!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuppaShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

service coudn`t have been better , picked us up at railway station and gave us a quick tour of wick showing pointing out pubs and restaurants. Rooms were very comfortable. As good a b&b as i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougiebEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Clachan, a lovely house, excellent food and very friendly. Elspeth also helped me with my work by suggesting people and organisations to visit. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed three nights here whilst visiting relatives. Stayed in a double room on single occupancy rate. The room was beautifully furnished with wall mounted TV and luxurious en suite. The breakfasts were superb with a wide choice including local delicacies available. Room and front door keys were provided so you were free to come and go as you please.
Elspeth the owner was very friendly with helpful advice about local amenities etc.
This is far better than any of the hotels I have used in Wick!
I will definitely be using The Clachan in future.

Room Tip: I stayed in the front ground floor bedroom which was extremely comfortable with no noise from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenFLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here with friends for a wedding in Wick. Could not fault the place at all. Immaculate decor, bright and clean accommodation. Our room was lovely. Bathroom spotless with large walk in shower. Breakfast was not at a set time but by mutual arrangement. Food was well presented, varied and well cooked. The owner Elspeth went out her way to make our stay a great time and even took us in her own car to the wedding!!
Would not hesitate to recommend the Clachan. It's better than home from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room at the back of the house. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierowall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed one night on road home to Orkney,Great hospitality, room was very nice and was very quite with being at the back of the house, nice big shower and it was all very clean, with an exellent breakfast in the morning. Will stay again. 110%

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
14.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bank Guesthouse
Bank Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Wick
155 reviews
250.7 mi away
Alba Sunrise
Alba Sunrise
#4 of 19 in Wick
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clachan

Property: The Clachan
Address: 13 Randolph Place, Wick KW1 5NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clachan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 star Gold B&B offering high quality accommodation for no more than 6 guests, assuring you receive our personal attention at all times. Accredited with the Visit Scotland "Taste Our Best" quality award, our breakfasts served at individual tables, are cooked to order using fresh-locally sourced produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clachan Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing