We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Clachan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 19 Wick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Clachan, a lovely house, excellent food and very friendly. Elspeth also helped me with my work by suggesting people and organisations to visit. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
153
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed three nights here whilst visiting relatives. Stayed in a double room on single occupancy rate. The room was beautifully furnished with wall mounted TV and luxurious en suite. The breakfasts were superb with a wide choice including local delicacies available. Room and front door keys were provided so you were free to come and go as you please.
Elspeth the owner was very friendly with helpful advice about local amenities etc.
This is far better than any of the hotels I have used in Wick!
I will definitely be using The Clachan in future.

Room Tip: I stayed in the front ground floor bedroom which was extremely comfortable with no noise from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenFLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here with friends for a wedding in Wick. Could not fault the place at all. Immaculate decor, bright and clean accommodation. Our room was lovely. Bathroom spotless with large walk in shower. Breakfast was not at a set time but by mutual arrangement. Food was well presented, varied and well cooked. The owner Elspeth went out her way to make our stay a great time and even took us in her own car to the wedding!!
Would not hesitate to recommend the Clachan. It's better than home from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room at the back of the house. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierowall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed one night on road home to Orkney,Great hospitality, room was very nice and was very quite with being at the back of the house, nice big shower and it was all very clean, with an exellent breakfast in the morning. Will stay again. 110%

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent a lovely two nights here. Although the B&B has been in operation for a long time, everything felt as if it had opened last week. The facilities, the decore, the food, and the owner's enthusiasm were all very fresh. We could not fault a thing about the Guest House. Although parking was on the road, the car and its contents were probably far safer than in a protected compound in other parts of the country.
We really enjoyed our stay and loved our chats with the owners.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in Sept 12 for 2 nights before going to the Orkneys, This b&b is the best,it puts some hotels to shame. the rooms are exellent and the breakfasts are the best you can get. Elspeth the owner is full of info regarding places to eat and things to do and see Highly Recomended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSCDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We came to the Wick in September. We have booked 1 night at The Clachan. I have never seen such a great hospitality. The rooms been just spotless. Really enjoyed stay over. Will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
14.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
219 reviews
250.7 mi away
Alba Sunrise
Alba Sunrise
#4 of 19 in Wick
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bank Guesthouse
Bank Guesthouse
#6 of 19 in Wick
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clachan

Property: The Clachan
Address: 13 Randolph Place, Wick KW1 5NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clachan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Highland welcome awaits you at "The Clachan” where we have been welcoming guests for nearly three decades and have recently undergone a total refurbishment. Come and discover John o' Groats, Castle of Mey, Dunnet Head or why not visit Wick Heritage Centre. You can enjoy a trip with the Seacoast Tours around the coastline of Caithness or take a trip over to the Orkney Islands, you won’t be disappointed. We are approximately a ten-minute walk from the centre of town where you will find a range of restaurants, pubs and hotels to cater for your meals. We are proud to have achieved 4 Gold Stars with the S.T.B. and 4 Gold Stars with the A..A.. and are a founder member of Scotland’s Best B&B’s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clachan Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing