We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!”
Review of Rivendel Cafe - CLOSED

Rivendel Cafe
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Piping hot freshly cooked meals. Hot & cold snacks. Hot drinks & cold drink. Suitable for families. Everybody is welcome.
Scottish Highlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Each visit to Rivendel is unique. The gifts and crafts change regularly, the surroundings are improved but still a work in progress and the banter just gets better and better.

We met folks there recently who were in self catering accommodation a few miles away and they planned their day round the Rivendel menu.

The all day breakfast sets you up for the day (greedy folks can have chips too!), and the rest of the menu options have something to suit everyone.

Glyn has made some lovely woodcrafts to my own designs and we have had our heads together recently for a memorial cross which has been very much admired. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and the fact that they have remained open throughout the winter last year is testament that they are getting it right for locals and visitors alike.

We visited yesterday for a Roast Sunday lunch and it was lovely, both plates wiped clean.

Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mgt_mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canisbay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and banter”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely place to call into and either have a full meal or a snack, the banter between the owner and customers is good always happy to meet your individual requirements. Also does some beautiful wood craft Glyn has made us a lovely name plaque for our house at a great price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanCanisbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The choice is yours"”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The menu is merely a list of items, you can Mix & Match and Chop & Change, whatever you desire. How refreshing and cooked to your exact requirements. And while you wait for your fest enjoy the banter and the slide show of the many woodeny things you can purchase....a little reminder of your visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rivendel Cafe - A riders dream Sunday”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was on a nice run out on the bike on a lovely, sunny Sunday morning and stopped off at the Rivendel Cafe in Wick. I can't rate this quaint, little place enough for adding to a perfect Sunday. A lovely breakfast and coffee at a price that I think is the cheapest in the area. The atmosphere is certainly the warmest and most welcoming. Whilst I was sitting in the cafe I noticed plenty of people coming and going, so it's very popular and many bought little gifts that have been made on the premises by the owner, Glyn. I would recommend to anyone to have a wee trip over and sample the food and banter. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Even though we live locally, we stumbled across this place thanks to a thread on a local forum. What a find...a great wee cafe with inexpensive yet delicious food, with really pleasant interesting owners. My children, who can be fairly fussy eaters, finish everything on their plates...everytime. As an adopted Scot I hate paying for wasted food lol, so this is a wonderful thing to behold!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobinovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivendel Cafe also viewed

Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing