We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight in the Highlands”
Review of Ackergill Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ackergill Tower
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Highlight in the Highlands”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The only place to stay if you are in the northeast of Scotland! The staff is extremely friendly and it's like calling a castle your own home away from home! The setting is incredible, with stunning views but everything feels so comfortable, like being at home. The food (we booked a room with breakfast and dinner) was fabulous! The castle has been renovated and restored with extraordinary finesse and detail! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuhltschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    51
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
46
232
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were planning to stay one night on our way north. Just bevore dinner we booked the second night. What a delight to be in a place where the staff makes you feel at home. It's like living in your very own castle. Very nice rooms, lovely morning room, drawing room etc. The level of service and the attention to detail is outstanding. Fully living up to 5 star standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ackergill, we really feel it is a special place to stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ackergill Tower is unique and for the discerning traveller who likes a touch of magic in the places at which they stay. Located on the most distant shoreline of Great Britain, close to a sandy beach and reasonable golf course, this is a great get-away from it all destination in which you can relax, chill-out and suit yourself. It has fine furniture and furnishings that provide an atmosphere of grandeur and comfort not to be found in many places in this part of Britain. It is not run like a chain hotel, but with a delightful friendliness that makes you feel like a guest at a country house week-end in days gone by. Pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room followed by an excellent dinner in the dining hall made for a great end to each day. For my part, I do not agree with the review that it is a corporate event hotel and a B&B! The guests coinciding with our visit were all independent travellers, who also seemed to like their experience and had relaxed into the atmosphere of the beguiling Tower!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we also think the Castle is very sepcial.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

To be completely clear: There is nothing wrong with Ackergill Tower. It's a great Place, rooms are spacious, service is very friendly though not very experienced and the food is ok. .... but: don't be fooled from the fact it's calling itself a Hotel. It's not. It's a corporate event location that is renting out to individuals when not booked for events. So what you really get is a bed and breakfast. A very nice (and quite expensive for what it is) one but nevertheless only a bed and breakfast.

From the website we were expecting a five star hotel and were quite confused on arrival when nobody was there to welcome us and to show us around but a very quiet maid that couldn't answer questions about the tower nor the activities nor anything else. If you do not expect what the website is suggesting you can still have a good time. But if you want hotel service including the usual five star experience with endless activities at your disposal and maybe a bar and decent mixed drinks in the afternoon you might want to look for a real hotel. Also if you are on a short stay make sure to book the activities in advance although most of them are designed for bigger groups on corporate events.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitchbuchannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
I am sorry your overall experience of the Castle was not as you required, we believe the Castle is a home from home, we will certainly take your comments on board.
Best wishes
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me and my wife just got married here and we couldn't have picked a better place. Everything ran like clockwork, the food was fantastic, the staff were always there when needed and the whole day was an absolute dream for the two of us. We stayed in the beach house that night which is a fantastic place, literally right on the beach. I'm sure we will be back for a wedding anniversary or two.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having your special day with us at the Castle.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary.
Best wishes.
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Feeling pretty stressed out and tired my husband always finds the best places for me to wind down and enjoy time to myself but have our children around at the same time.
Ackergill Tower is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen or been too, with a private beach that just goes on for miles and the fresh coastal air had me fixed and ready to go with in days of being there. It was a great place for the children and I enjoyed picking up the little crabs and fish with my three year old, while my fourteen year old bombed about in the most colourful sea I have ever seen ( including that of Dubai). A real retreat, the cottage in which we stayed was just enough with a great bed ( a must for sleep), the stairs were a little steep of the upstairs so should keep that in mind if you have small children as my youngest had to sleep on a make shift bed on our floor as the stairs were just that little too much. Apart from from that, wonderful place and we also took along our two westies as well.......what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyJosephine1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your time at the Castle, we feel it is a very special place and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes.
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I always try and ensure our wedding anniversary is marked in a special way. This year was our 29th...and it turned out to be very special. The room, the service & the food were all but faultless. (I am now on the hunt for sour cherry ice cream!) The view from our room was straight out to sea, which we watched from the four poster bed, the chair at the window and the bathroom! Not only romantic, but after a busy 6 months for both of us a good stress reducer. If you wanted to make a grand, romantic, never forgotten gesture....this would certainly be a place to do it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
2.3 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
286 reviews
21.5 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
11.9 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mingary Castle
Mingary Castle
#1 of 3 in Kilchoan
28 reviews
11.7 mi away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
471 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sinclair Bay
Sinclair Bay
#16 of 19 in Wick
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackergill Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackergill Tower

Property: Ackergill Tower
Address: Ackergill Tower Ackergill Tower By Wick, Wick KW1 4RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackergill Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly above its own private beach, at the northernmost tip of Scotland, this is one of the most atmospheric, iconic and legendary Venues imaginable. Steeped in over 500 years of fascinating history, bursting with authentic character and showded in mystery and romance, Ackergill Tower is an incomparably dramatic, luxurious and inspiring setting for events that are utterly magical and gloriously memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ackergill Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackergill Tower Hotel Wick
Ackergill Tower Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing