We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights stay”
Review of Norseman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Norseman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Two nights stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a coach tour with 33 Australians and us 2 Brits. The hotel is situated in town and has a very friendly staff. They will organise a bag wash, dry and fold for a bag the size of a pillow case, for £15. Put in in the morning and is ready for collection that evening. Our room (27) was of an adequate size if the double bed was on its own. It was accompanied by a set of bunk beds which made the available space very small. The shower over the bath was very dificult to operate and resulted in a couple of near scalds before the minute movement between cold and very hot was managed. The walls of the hotel semed on the thin side so other guests were audible. Dinner was homely, tasty and plentiful. Breakfast was plentiful with copious amounts of berries and fruits. Tea and coffee were served in the residents lounge after dinner. Overall a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    104
    50
    20
    22
See reviews for
48
88
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Attentive and helpfull staff. Excellent food and plenty of it. Some furnishings a bit tired but room standard very good. Some traffic noise from rooms on the front at weekends. Have stayed twice and the rooms at the back didn't hear a thing as not on the main road. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Staff pleasant. Food school dinner quality , dried up . Broccoli stone cold sorry. The interior of the hotel varies from freshly refurbished to having a TV Lounge with the tattles furniture I have ever seen in a hotel lounge. Another example of many , the flooring in front of the check in desk is dirty and covered by three equally dirty door mats . Shame on the management of this hotel. Signs on doors hung crooked !!!! needless sloppiness. Get a grip of the details managers , and sort out the food.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Blueskies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Blueskies B,

thanks for posting your feedback to us, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We are in the process of repairing our lounge furniture and our entrance carpet is going to be replaced, apologies that these impacted your experience of the Norseman negatively. I couldn't find any crooked signs so hopefully they have been returned to a level equilibrium.

We are sorry that you were disappointed and hope you would return to the Norseman where I am confident you would be able to experience us in a truer light, please contact me direct at the hotel and I would be happy to organise this,

kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very attentive staff, good food and enough of it. Bedroom window needed some attention and the carpets in public area were a bit tired. Perhaps a look at securing the creaking floorboards when replacing the carpets. Not a little distracting when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oramazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Oramazda,

thanks for taking the time and trouble to posting your feedback, we are in the process of funding a project for replacing the carpets and also repairing the public area furniture, sorry they detracted from your visit. I will action the maintenance team in reducing the noise from the floorboards. Thanks for your kind words regarding the team here and are delighted you felt we were value for money.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We were touring so quite tired upon arrival...when we first encountered the Norseman we were somewhat apprehensive as it looked tired and worn out on first impressions.....however once inside one feels much more comfortable, the staff certainly make up for the shortfall,we felt it was overpriced for a very basic accommodation in comparison for what we had paid in other locations. Wick does not have a lot to offer for the tourist and we felt dissatisfied and disappointed in comparison with other locations. Very sorry to say, but we think it needs a little TLC to bring it upto a standard for the traveller.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Moira R,

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Wick, sorry that you were disappointed. We work hard as a destination to provide a first class venue for the visitor and realise there is alot more we can do which we are working towards to achieving. We do have a world class Heritage Centre and also our local distillery offers a great visitor experience in their distillery centre, indeed its Old Pulteney 21 Year Old was voted the best whisky for 2012 by Jim Murray's Whisky Bible.The Sinclair and Girnigoe Castle is also revitalised into an inspiring attraction.

Your kind words regarding the team here at the Norseman is much appreciated and they were delighted to receive that feedback, thanks again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the North of Scotland,

kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canvey island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were on month tour of Scotland. hotel is Handy for John o Groats and castle of May. We found the staff most helpful and busy as coach party was arriving.Given room on 2nd floor and no lift so hard work with luggage. Room comfortable and clean and quiet. Evening meals and breakfast were good food nicely cooked . we were unfortunate to have a flat tyre and reception were helpful in referring us to a local garage. Would visit again but a room on lower floor would save our legs unless a lift is installed

Room Tip: Rooms at rear away from car park are best. also lower floor as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Alan V,

thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to Wick, we are delighted you found the room comfortable, clean and quiet. Apologies for not helping you with your luggage, we are always on hand to assist and are very sorry we inadvertantly missed this with yourselves.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the Norseman,

kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

As you arrive at the Norseman, gut instinct is to turn around and go. Flaking paint, dirty windows, look of a working mans club really puts you off. However, Once inside,pleasant staff ease the anxiety! I was given keys to room 314.......a real disappointment! The carpet was bare (cord showing), curtain hanging off, window dirty etc.... But the room was really clean.
Went down for dinner... Bar very reasonable indeed (working men's club prices!), one look at the menu and..... disappointed, seemed like a very ordinary pub menu. Fish and chips, curry, pie, salad, steak all seemed very plain. When the food arrive it was really good, a little imagination from the author of the menu would have helped.
During the night, every bed in the hotel creaked and boy racers tore up the car park over the road (admit not the hotels fault), but the bed was really comfortable and after 12.00, when the checkered flag had gone down, I slept like I was dead!
Breakfast was Excellent. I have travelled all over the UK on business but this has to be the best. Beats the 'Holiday Inn' type establishments into a cocked hat. Cooked buffet really good (especially the fresh fried eggs), but the fruit was unbeatable.. All fresh.. Mango, pineapple, strawberries, blueberries.. Really good.
All in all, the value and quality of the food made this an enjoyable stay. I just wish the town of Wick was having a better time... shops boarded, yobs roaring around in souped Corsas , derelict buildings etc but then, stand on the bridge and watch the Sea otters. Where else could you do that.

This stay was truly a dichotomy....

Room Tip: Don't face the Poundstretcher car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul105105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Paul 105105,

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Norseman Hotel. Apologies that your first impressions didnt make you want to stay. We have just landscaped our garden to the rear and it has enhanced our guests experience but appreciate your feedback on the front of the hotel. Unfortunately it is not something we can fix quickly but it is on our radar.

Your kind words regarding the staff and the food is very much appreciated, we work hard to keep our breakfast a positive lasting memory for our guests and if that is coupled with a great nights sleep and a good view of the otters then we are delighted so thanks for sharing them with us,

kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
14.9 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
219 reviews
14.2 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
122 reviews
23.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Hotel

Property: Norseman Hotel
Address: Riverside, Wick KW1 4NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norseman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the picturesque town of Wick and overlooking the river offering comfortable accommodation, free WI-FI and on-site parking, this family-run hotel is perfect for exploring the Scottish North Coast. Ideal for both business and leisure, guests can be sure of a welcome that is imbued with all the warmth and charm of true Highland Hospitality. With scenic views of both the River Wick and the Hotel’s own private gardens it generates an ambience that is as effortlessly relaxed as it is delightfully cosy. The property itself boasts an excellent centralised location and is a great base from which to experience the glorious untamed wilds and dramatic beauty of the Caithness landscape.Each of the 48 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and stylishly furnished. Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and as a result all of the rooms come fully equipped with all the modern conveniences and luxuries one would expect. Including: free Wi-Fi access, flat screen HD TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. The Hotel offers accommodation to suit all kinds of traveller, from Classic and Superior Double or Twin Rooms to Single and Family options.The on-site restaurant prides itself on its commitment to providing quality food made from the finest locally sourced produce that Scotland has to offer. Offering a true taste of the Highlands, it specialises in traditional cuisine that is both freshly prepared and undeniably delicious. For a more casual setting, the Wicker’s Bar is perfect for enjoying a light lunch or a comforting supper.The Hotel offers 3 different function rooms with capacity for anything from 6 to 200 delegates, perfect for business conferences, meetings and other corporate events. For that most special of days, the Norseman Hotel can cater for weddings of up to 200 guests and is fully licensed for Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships.Situated just off the A99 in the centre of Wick, the Hotel is both easily accessible and convenient. The nearest city is Inverness, which is a 2 hour 15 minute drive through some of the most spectacular scenery in all of Scotland. Wick train station is just a brief walk from the Hotel and offers regular services to Inverness and Fort William. There are also several bus operators which run daily services to the Highlands from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. For those travelling by air, Inverness Airport offers flights to a range of national and European destinations, whilst the local Wick Airport is just a 10 minute drive away and receives flights from Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Kirkwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norseman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing