We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Norseman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norseman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel with Free WiFi and parking in great location in town centre. The food was superb, had a juicy steak washed down with a fine ale and the bar staff were very friendly. The room was confy and quiet - all you could want really!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Innterupter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackayhotelcompany, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Innterupter,

thanks for the kind comments and taking the time to pass them on, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you get a chance to enjoy our juicy steaks and fine ale again sometime soon,

kind regards
Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    100
    46
    19
    20
See reviews for
48
79
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights early Sept and were happy with our choice, excellent location, within walking distance to all of Wick's places of interest. The hotel is being refurbished by new owners, our two rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, lots of fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, black pudding. The Carvery has a large selection from which to choose. Staff very helpful and obliging, manager even came to our room to ensure we got internet on our IPads. We chose this hotel for a special birthday, as Wick is my hometown, we were very pleased with the hotel, staff, food and will go back when we are back in U.K.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pouilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackayhotelcompany, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Pouilly,

thanks for the kind words and hope you had a pleasant and safe trip back to Oregon. I have passed on your feedback to the team and they also thankyou. The good news is we have upgraded our complimentary Wifi so the coverage is even better for you next time you visit the True North here in Scotland.

Haste ye back!
Kind regards
Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the second year I have stayed on business and have been extremely impressed. This year however they have to be complimented on the renovation work they have undertaken to modernise the hotel. A good town centre location, free parking and a breakfast better than any I have had at 4 or 5 star hotels . The staff are also extremely friendly and accomodating well worth the 5 star review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allanmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackayhotelcompany, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear allanmacd,

thankyou for staying with us again and we are delighted you like the renovation works we have done. If we are fortunate enough to look after you again on your next visit you will see more of the work we have undertaken. We have recently upgraded the Wifi connection to provide even better coverage and capacity, free to all our guests.

The team work hard at providing a good enough breakfast and your 5 star rating has made them whoop with delight so thankyou!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts,
kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The appearance from the outside is very 1970s, but once you get inside the hotel staff are very helpful and welcoming and the reception, lounge and bar areas are modern and well presented. I got a good sized immaculately clean room and breakfast that beats most of the much posher hotels I have stayed at, all for £50/night. The evening meal in the restaurant was also very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

this is my second review of the Norseman - and although the last time I was here it wasn't dreadful - it wasn't fabulous either.
But since my last visit it has improved greatly. The hotel was clean, warm and the staff we very friendly!. The bar area has been redecorated - and it has made a difference - the food is however the same - FABULOUS. I had the pan fried chicken on a bed of haggis and it was real tasty - and loads of veg on the plate too,

One criticism, in my room everything squeaked - the bed, the floor, even the bathroom door - it didn't bother me - but I was aware that the sound did travel to other rooms.

right in the centre of Wick , and within easy walking distance of the train station. One tip - if you are staying over a weekend, get a room at the back of the hotel - as it can be quite noisy at the front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at The Norseman for 1 night, whilst in Wick for business.
First impressions from the outside are of a hotel firmly rooted in 1974, but on entering we were warmly welcomed by the young lady at Reception.
Check-in was very efficient (room was pre-paid), and we were directed to our room on the 2nd floor – no elevators, so make sure to check in advance if you have mobility issues (or if you are just really lazy!).
The room was clean, and the bedding was also in good shape – the usual kettle etc. was included in the room, along with soap & shower products in the bathroom.
We ate in the bar during the night that we stayed, and had exceptional service from Gavin, who was on duty throughout – he served, poured, cleared away, and did all of these with a smile and a friendly chat.
The food was very good indeed, fresh and well-cooked – my wife opted for fish, which was so large that it may in fact have been a slice of whale ! Whatever it was, it was delicious !!
All of the staff that we dealt with were equally friendly and helpful, and many larger and “better” hotels could learn a thing or 2 about customer focus and customer service from the staff at The Norseman.
The only negative was the temperature in the room -- absolutely sweltering hot, and no way to turn it down / off. Opening the huge Velux window served only to let the pterodactyls that masquerade as seagulls in to play, so it wasn't really an option !
Despite this, when we next return to Wick, we will certainly return to The Norseman.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wick is not a good place to find too much hotel choice and The Norseman benefits from the lack of competition and that it is large enough for coach parties. The hotel is in a 1970's time warp, and much of the decor and furnishings are well passed their best and attention to detail seems to have given way to "it'll do" which for the price is not good enough. Indeed in a hotel how hard is it for instance to provide a bed that is solid and stable?

If you're passing through for one night the hotel is OK but if staying longer I'd look elsewhere. A little staff training on service and smiling would help although full marks to the barman who was the star of our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackayhotelcompany, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear JerryRiches,

thankyou for your comments, please accept my apologies for the poor impression you have been given during your stay and my late response to you after you took the time and trouble to post your feedback to us.

We were disappointed to read of your experience and would like to reiterate that we take our profession very seriously and never foster an 'it'll do' attitude to our guests and the service that they receive. Indeed we have invested alot of time, effort and money in furniture, new beds and upgrading the interior of the buidling and are in the process of planning improvements to the outside to match the improvements we have made on the inside as well as planning staff development training.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back next time you are visiting Wick.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
18.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Hotel

Property: Norseman Hotel
Address: Riverside, Wick KW1 4NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norseman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the picturesque town of Wick and overlooking the river offering comfortable accommodation, free WI-FI and on-site parking, this family-run hotel is perfect for exploring the Scottish North Coast. Ideal for both business and leisure, guests can be sure of a welcome that is imbued with all the warmth and charm of true Highland Hospitality. With scenic views of both the River Wick and the Hotel’s own private gardens it generates an ambience that is as effortlessly relaxed as it is delightfully cosy. The property itself boasts an excellent centralised location and is a great base from which to experience the glorious untamed wilds and dramatic beauty of the Caithness landscape.Each of the 48 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and stylishly furnished. Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and as a result all of the rooms come fully equipped with all the modern conveniences and luxuries one would expect. Including: free Wi-Fi access, flat screen HD TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. The Hotel offers accommodation to suit all kinds of traveller, from Classic and Superior Double or Twin Rooms to Single and Family options.The on-site restaurant prides itself on its commitment to providing quality food made from the finest locally sourced produce that Scotland has to offer. Offering a true taste of the Highlands, it specialises in traditional cuisine that is both freshly prepared and undeniably delicious. For a more casual setting, the Wicker’s Bar is perfect for enjoying a light lunch or a comforting supper.The Hotel offers 3 different function rooms with capacity for anything from 6 to 200 delegates, perfect for business conferences, meetings and other corporate events. For that most special of days, the Norseman Hotel can cater for weddings of up to 200 guests and is fully licensed for Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships.Situated just off the A99 in the centre of Wick, the Hotel is both easily accessible and convenient. The nearest city is Inverness, which is a 2 hour 15 minute drive through some of the most spectacular scenery in all of Scotland. Wick train station is just a brief walk from the Hotel and offers regular services to Inverness and Fort William. There are also several bus operators which run daily services to the Highlands from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. For those travelling by air, Inverness Airport offers flights to a range of national and European destinations, whilst the local Wick Airport is just a 10 minute drive away and receives flights from Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Kirkwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norseman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing