We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday at Mackays”
Review of Mackays Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mackays Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Holiday at Mackays”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a short holiday in the highlands and having read the reviews of Mackays Hotel booked 4 nights. We decided to fly up from Edinburgh to Wick and return on the train to Inverness and beyond. The hotel offers to collect you from the airport which is only 2 miles out of town which we accepted. We were met at the airport by Ellie Lamont one of the owners who brought us back to the hotel and en route had lots of ideas for what we could do when visiting the area. Check in was quick and our room was large with a king size bed and a view of the river below. We also hired a Mercedes 220 diesel turbo car which was only 6 months old at a very reasonable rate direct from the hotel for 3 days. We booked half board both breakfast and dinner were of wonderful quality with great service. The other owner was Murray Lamont who was always helpful and nothing was to much trouble for him and was an expert on whisky. While stopping at Mackays Hotel we visited The Castle of Mey , The Orkney islands on a day trip from John o Groats , Thurso and surrounding area.
Murray, Ellie and their staff were exceptional and we are already planning another holiday next year in the north highlands and will definitely stopping at Mackays again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187064Andrew41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 187064Andrew41

Thank you for your lovely words!

So glad you enjoyed your visit to Caithness, you certainly made the best of your time and packed in many visits to our famous landmarks.

We do hope you will come back to visit as here are many more wonderful areas of Caithness and Sutherland to explore.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    124
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
45
179
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Albury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms have character, very close to the Telford planned housing (built mid-19th century). Building triangular with sharp apex, views over Wick river.
Proprietor personally involved with guests.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Nevwind

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Our building is indeed very intriguing! It was built to be similar to a boat and is referred to in Robert Louise Stevenson's book, Treasure Island. In the book there is reference to the five hand way and Mackays Hotel is one of the 5 to which he refers.

We do aim to deliver personal service and we are very pleased the team delivered their usual helpful and friendly service as well.

We hope to see you back in Wick and make sure to ask Murray more about the history.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Check-in was lazy, rooms dire (look like my grandmother's house 20 years ago) and lacking in atmosphere. The town of Wick is nice enough for one night's stay, but I just didn't like the staff or feeling of this place. Felt unsettled and would not return. I didn't dine at the hotel in the evening but had breakfast - there were 'things' floating in the milk, toast was cold, fry-up itself had some nice black pudding in it, but service wasn't good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisstruppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Lewisstruppi

I have been unable to trace your booking as your contributer name does not match with any bookings for May.

As most customers remark positively on the service, food and hotel, your comments are very concerning.

I would be grateful if you would contact me either at the hotel on 01955602323 or email me direct on ellie @ mackayshotel.co.uk (no spaces are required however trip advisor will not allow email addresses in our replies so I have to do it this way).

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel & the staff where more than helpful. After a double booking at a nearby hotel we where moved across to this hotel, what a stroke of luck! Great breakfasts and very clean & spacious rooms. The best hotel we stayed in during our whole trip. Many thanks to the management who handled this surprise booking with aplomb, Mal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mal675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mal

Thank you for your review and we were very glad to be able to help out and make sure your visit to Wick was a good experience!

The team are very pleased to hear you enjoyed their service and the food.

Look forward to welcoming you back if you travel to our lovely county again.
Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is allegedly No 1 in Wick, Scotland. Perhaps this is because there are only three hotels in town !
We stayed in this hotel not by choice, but because another luxury B&B which we'd booked online had been double booked -- and the owners quite decently offered at very short notice to book us into another place. To say we were disappointed was an understatement.
The rooms were old, basic and noisy. The rate which we were charged ( which included a set course dinner for two) totalled GBP 231.50 -- which was NOT good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ian G

How disappointing to read your review and I am very sorry you feel this way.

I have been able to trace your booking and can only apologise unreservedly as we have charged you for the meals twice. We have refunded, not only, your meals but your full drinks bill as recompense for our error on to the credit card used to pay the bill.

Hopefully the inconvenience of being moved from your original place of booking did not detract from your enjoyment of our lovely county and should you visit Caithness again please contact me direct and allow us an opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My daughter and I spent a night at this 'quaint' hotel on the shortest street. Check in was quick and welcoming. We were given a room which overlooked the river (thanks) as we had actually booked one on the street side. Thankfully there was a lift (antiquainted) but perfectly workable to take us to our comfortable rooms. Our only criticism (mainly my daughter) was the hairdryer - took too long to dry her hair - obviously not a problem for men.

We booked (by email beforehand) dinner in Bistro 1 (decor extremely dated - pink and green - why not use a Mackay theme (name of hotel) am sure this would really please overseas visitors. Food was very good but took 1.5 hours from time of entering the bistro to main course being served. Portions were slightly small (my husband, if he had been with us, would have been starving and he does not eat huge portions) and prices a bit on the high side although presentation was excellent.

Parking is on the street as there is no hotel parking - this is understandable when you see the situation of the hotel.

Overall - friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Jennifer R

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for the time taken in the Bistro. We are changing the hairdryers in all the rooms over the next few months, totally agree with your daughter!

We are glad you enjoyed our food and hospitality, do come back and visit us again, remind me about the hairdryer too!

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Use this hotel for a lot of my visits to the Wick area, mainly through work related. Can't praise this hotel enough. Excellent food very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very comfortable. There seems never to be a problem when asking for an item, ask and it's there. As far as fitness items are concerned you can use the local swimming pool whilst staying at this establishment. I've no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear JohnC

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad you find the team so helpful - we do like our guests to feel it's a home from home.

The food is great, the team really go the extra mile.

Glad you appreciate the complimentary access to the pool and gym, means you can eat more!

Look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
23.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
18.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackays Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackays Hotel

Property: Mackays Hotel
Address: Union Street, Wick KW1 5ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackays Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackays Hotel is located in Wick, in the beautiful area of Caithness. The hotel has gained wide recognition for its high standard of award winning service and fine food. Our rooms are warm, comfortable and so welcoming, you'll find yourself relaxing from the moment you arrive. Using only the best in local produce and fish straight from the boats at Scrabster, No 1 Bistro is one of Caithness's tastiest choices for lunch and dinner, the only restaurant in Wick recognised for culinary standards of excellence with an AA Rosette. Our guests can also take advantage of free entry to the local pool and gym and free WiFi throughout the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LateRooms and Orbitz so you can book your Mackays Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing