We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't warm to this place at all”
Review of Mackays Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mackays Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Didn't warm to this place at all”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Check-in was lazy, rooms dire (look like my grandmother's house 20 years ago) and lacking in atmosphere. The town of Wick is nice enough for one night's stay, but I just didn't like the staff or feeling of this place. Felt unsettled and would not return. I didn't dine at the hotel in the evening but had breakfast - there were 'things' floating in the milk, toast was cold, fry-up itself had some nice black pudding in it, but service wasn't good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisstruppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Lewisstruppi

I have been unable to trace your booking as your contributer name does not match with any bookings for May.

As most customers remark positively on the service, food and hotel, your comments are very concerning.

I would be grateful if you would contact me either at the hotel on 01955602323 or email me direct on ellie @ mackayshotel.co.uk (no spaces are required however trip advisor will not allow email addresses in our replies so I have to do it this way).

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    134
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
189
16
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel & the staff where more than helpful. After a double booking at a nearby hotel we where moved across to this hotel, what a stroke of luck! Great breakfasts and very clean & spacious rooms. The best hotel we stayed in during our whole trip. Many thanks to the management who handled this surprise booking with aplomb, Mal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mal675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mal

Thank you for your review and we were very glad to be able to help out and make sure your visit to Wick was a good experience!

The team are very pleased to hear you enjoyed their service and the food.

Look forward to welcoming you back if you travel to our lovely county again.
Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is allegedly No 1 in Wick, Scotland. Perhaps this is because there are only three hotels in town !
We stayed in this hotel not by choice, but because another luxury B&B which we'd booked online had been double booked -- and the owners quite decently offered at very short notice to book us into another place. To say we were disappointed was an understatement.
The rooms were old, basic and noisy. The rate which we were charged ( which included a set course dinner for two) totalled GBP 231.50 -- which was NOT good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ian G

How disappointing to read your review and I am very sorry you feel this way.

I have been able to trace your booking and can only apologise unreservedly as we have charged you for the meals twice. We have refunded, not only, your meals but your full drinks bill as recompense for our error on to the credit card used to pay the bill.

Hopefully the inconvenience of being moved from your original place of booking did not detract from your enjoyment of our lovely county and should you visit Caithness again please contact me direct and allow us an opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My daughter and I spent a night at this 'quaint' hotel on the shortest street. Check in was quick and welcoming. We were given a room which overlooked the river (thanks) as we had actually booked one on the street side. Thankfully there was a lift (antiquainted) but perfectly workable to take us to our comfortable rooms. Our only criticism (mainly my daughter) was the hairdryer - took too long to dry her hair - obviously not a problem for men.

We booked (by email beforehand) dinner in Bistro 1 (decor extremely dated - pink and green - why not use a Mackay theme (name of hotel) am sure this would really please overseas visitors. Food was very good but took 1.5 hours from time of entering the bistro to main course being served. Portions were slightly small (my husband, if he had been with us, would have been starving and he does not eat huge portions) and prices a bit on the high side although presentation was excellent.

Parking is on the street as there is no hotel parking - this is understandable when you see the situation of the hotel.

Overall - friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Jennifer R

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for the time taken in the Bistro. We are changing the hairdryers in all the rooms over the next few months, totally agree with your daughter!

We are glad you enjoyed our food and hospitality, do come back and visit us again, remind me about the hairdryer too!

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Use this hotel for a lot of my visits to the Wick area, mainly through work related. Can't praise this hotel enough. Excellent food very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very comfortable. There seems never to be a problem when asking for an item, ask and it's there. As far as fitness items are concerned you can use the local swimming pool whilst staying at this establishment. I've no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear JohnC

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad you find the team so helpful - we do like our guests to feel it's a home from home.

The food is great, the team really go the extra mile.

Glad you appreciate the complimentary access to the pool and gym, means you can eat more!

Look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Ellie Lamont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel at the weekend, and had a really nice time.
We arrived on Friday and we were greeted with a warm welcome as soon as we arrived. The check in process was quick and easy, and we were taken through the hall and directed to our room. We were also advised to book a table for dinner if we wished to eat in the hotel that evening as it can get very busy.
Our room was a good size and very welcoming, with modern decor. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had a good sized jacuzzi bath.
There were a lot of information packs out on display in the room, giving information about the local attractions and places to visit. One brochure was even written especially by staff at the hotel and was very informative, including some history about the local area and recommended sights to visit in Wick town itself. I appreciated how much thought had gone in to this.
The information packs also explained that during your stay in the hotel, you can use the facilities at Wick swimming pool free of charge.
Our evening meal was delicious, the portions were large and although initially we thought the prices were high, we soon realised that you certainly get what you pay for. The food was cooked to a high standard and was well presented. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals, and thought very highly of the service received. After dinner we also received a complimentary shot of the local whisky liquer.
All in all, we had an enjoyable experience staying at the hotel, and I would highly recommend staying here. We also hope to return again some day.

Room Tip: Please note that I have put swimming pool and fitness centre as average because the hotel did not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Lisa S

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Our chefs do a great job, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and that the team were attentive to you.

I am particularly proud of the team that put together our visitor guide, great teamwork!

Do come back and visit us soon
Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building with decent street parking and a welcoming reception area. Incredibly friendly staff.

We did a deal at just under £150 DB&B.

Past reception, the Public areas are nicely presented and clean.

The lift is ancient, but does have a safety system, so assume HSE approve. It could be a feature if it were tidied up inside: peeling headlining etc.

Our room was clean with a good river view, but NOT in any way worthy of the tariff rate I'm afraid. It was tired and dated: not retro or charming!

The ensuite has torn, wood effect, lino, a cracked sink, and a 70s bath with mixer tap/shower! Again, for the asking price, I don't expect to have to dance in and out of a variable temperature shower flow, cursing in the process!!! Good head of water though.

Plastic "water cooler" type tumblers too!!! Why not glass?

Shabby, not chique!

We dined in the #1 Bistro, which was lovely; apart from a head waiter/maitre'd who was unaware of the subtle difference between attentive service and pretentiousness! His presence started off as amusing, but became irritating by the end of our, excellent, meal.

All in all, not at the right price point for the offer, but I guess having a captive market means complacency creeps in.

When I mentioned the above to the management, politely, I was told that the place was being refurbished!! That response seems to have been used before: as far back as 2011.

Sad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DewinDwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear DewinDwl
I am sorry you felt our rooms did not meet your needs.

Refurbishing rooms is an ongoing process for our hotel, the room you and your wife occupied is on the plan for 2013/14. We are not in the position of being able to shut the whole hotel to refurbish every room at the same time. You saw evidence of the ongoing refurbishment in the room next to yours as you mentioned on departure. It is such a shame you did not voice your concerns when you first saw your room, giving us the opportunity to do something.

Most of our customers remark very positively on the service they receive in No 1 Bistro, and we regret that it wasn’t to your personal taste on this occasion. However we are pleased to hear that the food from our locally sourced menu met with your satisfaction.

We would like the opportunity to make up for your disappointment with your room. When you are planning another visit to the area please get in touch with me direct (info@mackayshotel.co.uk), I will ensure your room charge is covered by the hotel

Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
23.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackays Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackays Hotel

Property: Mackays Hotel
Address: Union Street, Wick KW1 5ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackays Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackays Hotel is located in Wick, in the beautiful area of Caithness. The hotel has gained wide recognition for its high standard of award winning service and fine food. Our rooms are warm, comfortable and so welcoming, you'll find yourself relaxing from the moment you arrive. Using only the best in local produce and fish straight from the boats at Scrabster, No 1 Bistro is one of Caithness's tastiest choices for lunch and dinner, the only restaurant in Wick recognised for culinary standards of excellence with an AA Rosette. Our guests can also take advantage of free entry to the local pool and gym and free WiFi throughout the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Mackays Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing