We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Wonderful Management and Staff”
Review of Mackays Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mackays Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Wonderful Management and Staff”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A big Thanks to Mackays Hotel for a wonderful stay. Everyone was brilliant and nothing was to much bother. We are definitely going back. Spotlessly clean and the food was amazing.
We stayed for three nights and were sorry to leave.
Pauline, Jim, Christine and Jim x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Pauline, Jim, Christine & Jim

Thank you for your great comments.

All the team will be 'wow'ed when i show them the review.

We enjoyed your visit too and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    137
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
47
192
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having travelled to this area on business these past 8 years and having tried most of the hotels in the region, I must conclude that for overall quality, Staff friendliness, quality of food, atmosphere and value for money, then Mackays is the tops. I stay there 3 to 4 times a year and have yet to find anything to moan about which I must say is unusual for me (according to my wife!). Highly recommended and you'll also keep some money in your pocket.

Room Tip: I don't have a preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Chris N

Wow! Thank you for your great feedback. The team were over the moon when I showed them.

Haste ye back

Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night to attend a dinner in the dinning room.
Staff were very friendly and were well trained.

Our room was rather small and the towel rail fell of the wall !
Breakfast was ok but only white bread left for toast.

Room Tip: Standard room not good value for money but from other reviews I can see there are better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Hilda25

So sorry to hear your towel rail came off, luckily for our guests an incident like that is very rare, it's the first time I've heard of a guest experiencing that and I'm in with the bricks!

There definitely should have been brown bread on offer as well so apologies again for that.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed the warm welcome our team are so good at delivering and as I can see from your reviws you are a regular traveller to Wick I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very impressed especially with the staff!! We arrived one evening with no booking as our ferry had been cancelled. There were no rooms available however the staff were so helpful ringing round to find us a room that we booked to stay on our way back from Orkney. As we were about to leave a cancellation came in so we stayed after all. Again the staff were brilliant - apologising that this was only a standard room and that we would receive a complimentary upgrade on our return. True to word this is what happened. The standard room was fine, however the superior room was superb - loved the large bed and the jacuzzi bath. Food in the bistro was superb and all bar and restaurant staff were outstanding. Breakfast also very good and they didn't mind providing breakfast early so we could leave to catch our ferry. Didn't like the lift - but have no issue using stairs anyway. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodders5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Rodders5301

Thank you for your lovely review, We were glad we found you a bed for the night especially in that weather.

Our service professionals and the chefs do aim to provie a high standard and we are very glad you enjioyed your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed overnight to celebrate our anniversary. Could not have been made to feel more welcome. Room was spotlessly clean and the jacuzzi bath was a bonus. The meal we had in the Bistro was excellant with lots of choice and food was cooked to perfection. The breakfast was also top class with plenty of choice and as much as you wanted. Cereals, toast, croissants, fruit juice and coffee all self service and an excellant choice of hot food if you want. All staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Fiona H

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary with! We enjoyed having you and your husband stay with us!

Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

It might be the middle of winter but the menu available & the food served was very good, the service from all the staff excellent, the hotel is in a good location but can be a problem parking if you have lots of luggage and need to be near the entrance but apart from that everything els was very good, I would not hesitate to come back, many thanks to all, by Colin Gray

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickbarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Dickbarto (sorry Trip advisor does not allow me to use your name apparently...)

Great to hear the team delivered for you and our caithness hospitality hit the right spot. A home from home is our aim, we know how difficult it can be traveling for work and in this weather!

Look forwad to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stollhamm, Niedersachsen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you enter the reception area of the Hotel, on the wall you will find the promise that they will do their very best to make you feel at home in a familiar atmosphere. And they kept it!
Great people to stay with, good food and great breakfast. If you are interested in the history of the area, including the famous whisky that is made in the same village, Murray will explain you everything there is to know about it.
I am looking forward to my next stay at Mackays hotel and I can recommend it to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goofx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mackays Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Govert V

Thank you for the lovely review. The team were really touched that you had remebered our Customer Promise and it was great to hear we are meeting our aim!

have a lovely Christmas and New Year and we look forward to seeing you in the New Year

Haste ye back
Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
14.4 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackays Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackays Hotel

Property: Mackays Hotel
Address: Union Street, Wick KW1 5ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackays Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackays Hotel is located in Wick, in the beautiful area of Caithness. The hotel has gained wide recognition for its high standard of award winning service and fine food. Our rooms are warm, comfortable and so welcoming, you'll find yourself relaxing from the moment you arrive. Using only the best in local produce and fish straight from the boats at Scrabster, No 1 Bistro is one of Caithness's tastiest choices for lunch and dinner, the only restaurant in Wick recognised for culinary standards of excellence with an AA Rosette. Our guests can also take advantage of free entry to the local pool and gym and free WiFi throughout the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mackays Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing