We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini break from Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breadalbane House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mini break from Aberdeen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Went up to Wick on the train. Overnight stay here. Nice little hotel. Being slowly refurbished and I'm sure when it is finished it'll be a grand place, but for now it's good but clearly a "work in progress". Will I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roose_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
22
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
happy trails
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed overnight in this hotel 26th march 2013,looked a bit rough from the outside.inside being refurbished.the good news was the bar was shut and as scotland were in action that night i was more than glad.staff were very friendly nothing was too much bothered.i asked for a double room ensuite to myself and ended up on the top floor in room number 9.it was very cosy with the heating on when i went to bed (midnight) and was on or still on when i surfaced at 07.35.great !!!!!!, the bed was so comfy i would have tried to drag it onto the train if they'd let me.great view of the harbour..full scottish breakfast was very good with every everything nice and hot.i'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: try and get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Manager at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Many Thanks for your kind words, he hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice family run hotel. I was in Wick for Business and stayed for 1 night in March. Very welcoming staff, large clean room. Did not have an evening meal but breakfast was great. Was unable to hve a drink in the bar as it was being refitted but that was not a real issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us , the bar refit went well and is now in full operation. Hopefully if you are in the area again you can enjoy a cocktail in the new lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perhaps early February is not the best time to visit Wick but business is business. Hotel has seen better days and is currently being renovated. The owner/manager/waiter could not be more pleasant and explained that due to the kitchens being refurbished only a very limited dinner menu was available which I did not partake of. The bedroom was very spacious, old fashioned but very clean with very comfortable beds. A nice touch was Tunnocks caramel wafers and teacakes on the tea tray. I think that I was the only person staying the night and was certainly on my own at breakfast which was average and I suspect was cooked by the owner/manager/waiter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibblegullane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Many thanks for your review. There was an ongoing refurbishment when you stayed with us which is almost complete now. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Breadalbane on our honeymoon and enjoyed it very much. The staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was delicious and filling (full Scottish for hubby, lighter fare for me), and our room was spacious, clean, and cozy warm. They also prepared us a wonderful picnic lunch for our visit to Castle Sinclair. We were very pleased with the location, as we were able to walk to the train station, around town, and across a neighborhood bridge during sunset to a super romantic French restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Many Thanks for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel, with a handful of rooms. There is a public bar attached.

The room I stayed in (Room 1) was larger than I expected with a good-sized en-suite. I have had far smaller rooms and en-suite in 4 star hotels. The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

The bar was busy with locals, and was a friendly place to spend time.

I was the only guest in the hotel, and I was asked to nominate my time for breakfast in the morning. Everything was ready for me, and I was served a magnificent full Scottish breakfast that really set me up for the day.

My only real complaint is that the water pressure in the shower is terrible - more a dribble than a trickle!

For a 2 star hotel this more than exceeded my expectations (apart from the shower). The value for money I received was very good indeed.

However, the hotel needs maintenence. Also a little bit of attention to detail would not go amiss, and would make this a rave review instead of just a good one. For example:
- no soap or shampoo provided (OK, it is a 2 star hotel!).
- only 1/4 of a used toilet roll provided.
- one of the taps in the ensuite is almost completely detached from the basin.
- the temperature control on the shower is the wrong way round.
- both shaving lights in the ensuite seemed not to work.
- the (free) WiFi seemed to work only intermittently.
- the ensuite blind is too small for the window.
- therre is only 1 bedside light at the double bed.

Room Tip: Check that the shower pressure is adequate before accepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Your comments regarding the maintenance issues with the en-suite are justified on inspection and have been rectified since your stay. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed with Family in this hotel on vacation. We especialy like the scottish breakfast in mornings. Large room looked over harbour area. Good base for our tour of the Highlands of Scotland. Wick is nice town with lovely scenery, we enjoyed the drive to wick very much also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Many Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Wick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.4 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
14.6 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bank Guesthouse
Bank Guesthouse
#4 of 22 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane House Hotel

Property: Breadalbane House Hotel
Address: 20 Breadalbane Crescent, Wick KW1 5AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breadalbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breadalbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Hotel Wick
Breadalbane House Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing