We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Travellers nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breadalbane House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wick
uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Travellers nightmare”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stay here on the 3rd August for one night the room was nothing like the pictures on the web site.
Our shower was broken(see picture) and there was no seat cover for the toilet.
We were unable to closed the curtains and the floor was wet around the window, a towel had been put on the window seal to soak up water.so they must have known of this problem.
We ask for another room but was told they were full.
They told us we would get a full refund which we are still waiting for.
Sorry but would not stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirlordlongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I apologise for the experience you had whilst staying with us. The room in question - No.3 - had been taken out of use for upgrading prior to your stay. This room should never have been let out and it was a terrible staff error that it was. When the problem was highlighted by yourselves alternative accommodation should have been found for you. I apologise that for some reason this action was not taken.

This was an isolated event and hopefully does not reflect on the hotel as a whole. After speaking with yourself personally the refund has been resolved and the room is currently being renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
22
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

had the pleasure of staying here in july with my 8 yr old daughter and two black labs,room was lovely spacious and sumptously dressed , comfortable double bed lovely bed linen and humungous bathroom. Tv and kettle in room great sleep , lovely breakfast ,would say breakfast waitress could have been a bit more interested ,but, eoukdnt stop me staying again !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room - I have stayed in Travel Lodges more deluxe. There was a terrible damp problem, visible evidence was there if you failed to spot the smell. Whilst the bathroom was large and looked the business, the towels had a musty smell to them too. The water pressure was so poor all that would come out of the shower head was a dribble. My husband chose to go and shower in his daughters room instead. Breakfast was good although the cereal selection and juice was very limited. SORRY, BUT NOT SOMEWHERE I WOULD BOOK AGAIN.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
On inspection the window in the room was found to be leaking and had caused the damp problem. This had come over the course of one day during one of the wettest summers we have seen. We were not aware of the problem until the following day. If we had been notified at the time we would have arranged another room for you immediately.

The shower head was found to be between settings and needed clicked round to give proper performance.

Breakfast choices include Cornflakes, Fruit n Fibre, Weetabix, Muesli and Porridge - we also have various selection packs for kids. We serve Apple, Orange and Cranberry juice. I think the selection we offer is of a good variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wick hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

very pleasant staff. Food was very well prepared and presented well. Some rooms better than others as they appear to be working their way through with the improvements

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The surroundings of the hotel made me feel a little nervous as to what I had booked, but was very pleasantly suprised with our room. We had a family room which was large enough to accommodate 4 adults easily, it was clean and well appointed with nice linen.. I was delighted to see a tea making facility in our room. The breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. We were made to feel welcome and were given good local travel knowledge, over all good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The area around the hotel is quite run down, but seeing past that the hotel is ok, As other people have said, a little tlc is needed.
I stayed in Room 1, a deluxe double. Room has a damp problem and smells musty, but it is a large room with a very nice bathroom, but with a noisy toilet! Good value for money.
Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gra90travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was a lovely place to stay. The room was recently redecorated. There was a good choice for breakfast. The hotel itself is in a very convenient location near the centre of Wick. Would strongly recommend a stay in this welcoming establishment.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.4 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
14.6 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bank Guesthouse
Bank Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane House Hotel

Property: Breadalbane House Hotel
Address: 20 Breadalbane Crescent, Wick KW1 5AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breadalbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breadalbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Hotel Wick
Breadalbane House Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing