We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a run down town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of No 1 Bistro

No 1 Bistro
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: World record holder for the shortest street in the world.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food in a run down town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wick has seen much better days (I hope) so it was a relief that we stayed at Mackay's Hotel and enjoyed a great meal at No.1 Bistro. Good choices on the menu and food excellently prepared and great taste. Nice touch getting the complimentary local whisky liqueur afterwards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank munders123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    60
    22
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely gem on the shortest street in the world!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

In looking for the shortest street we came upon No 1 Bistro at lunch time. We luckily got a table and enjoyed very fresh and tasty sandwiches and soup. The service was very friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HikerMom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Highlands, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A friend and I travelled to Wick from Inverness on the train and were hoping to find somewhere good to have lunch - but did not have high hopes. How very wrong we were! We found this excellent bistro not far from the train station. We selected food from the three-course lunch menu, and we both chose something different for each course. I liked the simple menu - one meat (or poultry) dish, one fish dish, and one vegetarian dish for each of the starter and main courses, then a choice between two desserts or cheese and biscuits. All six dishes were excellent - nice presentation and tasty food. We had a well-chosen glass of wine each which was fairly priced. The meal was rounded off with an excellent cup of coffee. The staff were friendly and efficient and seemed eager to please. My friend who lives in London said the meal would have cost twice as much at his local restaurant at home - and the food would have been no better. Would certainly visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Highland-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food and service were fantastic and I can highly recommend eating at No 1 Bistro but bookings are essential because the place is small.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank old pet name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cup of tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Delightful place, modern and great service! On the shortest street in Britain, this corner bistro fits the bill for a quiet little time out for a beverage or tea. Also has a god menu! Very quick service and pleasant staff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 1 Bistro also viewed

Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to No 1 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing