We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pentland Lodge House
Nearby Hotels
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Thurso)
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hawthorns(Thurso)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
326
48
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
48
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiddleton roomhuge roombreakfast was excellentshortbread biscuitswarm welcomeplace to staybreakfast was freshly cookedusing local producenorthern lightsroom was spotlessoff street parkingthe ground floorhospitality trayorkney islandsnothing is too much troublebreakfast roomfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 382 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My wife & I stayed one night at Pentland Lodge House prior to taking the ferry to Orkney. We had the Middleton Room. What can I say? The room is huge, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The en-suite bathroom is gorgeous, the shower delivers plenty of warter (a bit of a hobby-horsre of mine). Breakfast was excellent, and service was friendly & efficent. I heartily recommend this establishment to anyone staying in Thurso.
Well done to the owners & staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapoGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Booked a room on the strength of the reviews on this site, and were certainly not disappointed.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Tracey and shown to our room, the "Cairnmore" - which has a Category 1 rating for disabled facilities - the only establishment in Caithness with this!
We had a lovely stay, the cooked breakfasts went down a treat and the service was second to none.
We will definitely return when we are next visiting family in Thurso.
Many thanks to Liz, Tracey, Debbie and Cathy for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Very warm and genuine welcome from owner. Location is great if you are in the area,walking, working or touring. We arrived by train and easily walked to B & B (20 mins) Anything you need just ask. Chose Middleton room, very spacious, sea views and really nice bathroom. Thurso is a Small, pretty town. Eat at Le Bistro. Early traditional breakfast is no problem and worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortysomfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hotel is in Thurso which is a small town at the very tip of the UK. Thurso has an excellent museum and friendly sweet shop owners (one ran across the street to tell us to go to the museum!)

The hotel is an old building which has been converted and has several well appointed comfortable rooms.

We stayed at the top of the house in what would have been the attic. The room was clean and comfortable. If I had any complaint the bathroom was tiny - but otherwise the hotel was lovely.

The owner and her staff are friendly. The owners are also very interested in the locality particularly the local geology.

Overall its a great place to stop on your journey north.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Thurso is a town of some character on the northernmost coast of Scotland, the ferry departure point for Orkney and thence to Shetland. So its natural to want to find a good bed and breakfast facility that's close to the ferry terminal. Thurso is an interesting place but generally speaking standards of accommodation provision is not good. Pentland Lodge House is most definitely the exception! Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to magnificently-appointed bedrooms (mine was particularly spacious), and the bath towels were positively luxurious (a comment I made to a delighted manager). Recommendations were given for dining out but we made our own arrangement. With an early departure the next morning being served breakfast at 7.00am was not a problem, and the food was delicious. My only criticism of Pentland Lodge House is that its website really does not do it justice: an establishment of this quality and excellence deserves a professionally-designed website.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews