We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to end long journey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentland Lodge House
Ranked #4 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place to end long journey”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hotel is in Thurso which is a small town at the very tip of the UK. Thurso has an excellent museum and friendly sweet shop owners (one ran across the street to tell us to go to the museum!)

The hotel is an old building which has been converted and has several well appointed comfortable rooms.

We stayed at the top of the house in what would have been the attic. The room was clean and comfortable. If I had any complaint the bathroom was tiny - but otherwise the hotel was lovely.

The owner and her staff are friendly. The owners are also very interested in the locality particularly the local geology.

Overall its a great place to stop on your journey north.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    45
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
153
33
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Thurso is a town of some character on the northernmost coast of Scotland, the ferry departure point for Orkney and thence to Shetland. So its natural to want to find a good bed and breakfast facility that's close to the ferry terminal. Thurso is an interesting place but generally speaking standards of accommodation provision is not good. Pentland Lodge House is most definitely the exception! Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to magnificently-appointed bedrooms (mine was particularly spacious), and the bath towels were positively luxurious (a comment I made to a delighted manager). Recommendations were given for dining out but we made our own arrangement. With an early departure the next morning being served breakfast at 7.00am was not a problem, and the food was delicious. My only criticism of Pentland Lodge House is that its website really does not do it justice: an establishment of this quality and excellence deserves a professionally-designed website.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The hotel is very conveniently situated for walking along the cliff tops or through the town.
The room was huge, with three windows - two of which looked onto the sea.It was absolutely spotless, and the bed was wonderful.
The food was excellent, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktandlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We booked the Pentland Lodge House as a stop off for a trip to Orkney. The ferry leaves quite early in the morning and the PLH is well geared up for this, serving a delicious breakfast from 7.00. It was easy to find, had loads of parking and is only 3 or 4 minutes from Scrabster harbour.

We had a brilliant day trip to Orkney and came back to an awesome dinner at Le Bistro, 10 mins walk from the PLH. This was recommended by and in fact kindly booked by the PLH.

Our room was light, very spacious and immaculate with a similay en suite shower room involving an excellent shower.

We would happily have doubled the length of our stay at least. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bothebo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed here for one night whilst on a tour of Scotland and of all the places we stayed, this had the best bed! The room was well decorated and had everything we needed and the ensuite was stylish and we were provided with all sorts of toiletries. There was very little noise from other residents, which made a change, and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham UK
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Could not fault anything at the hotel.
Good room,friendly and helpful staff,excellent breakfast.
Everything was spotless.
On 3 night break in area and spent the first and third nights at hotel ....the second at a far inferior place on Orkney.
Had different rooms for the two nights and both of similar standard.
Don't turn up in Thurso looking for food after 8pm...as the only choice will be a take away!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fossilbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2009

What can I say?
Best plated breakfast we've ever had.
Eleven out of ten for the fabulous sausages and bacon.
Incredibly clean room and en-suite bathroom.
We've stayed in quite a few small and large hotels in and around Thurso and this is definately the best accommodation to date.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnkrPlyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
4.8 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
11.1 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
110 reviews
14.4 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentland Lodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentland Lodge House

Property: Pentland Lodge House
Address: Pentland Lodge House Granville Street, Thurso KW14 7JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pentland Lodge House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentland Lodge House blends the spacious luxury of old style rooms with contemporary style and high quality, modern facilities. All rooms have king size beds, power shower en suite, free broadband internet connectivity, flat screen TV, desk and seating space. This listed building is within a short stroll of the main town and offers some spectacular views over Thurso Bay. Plenty off-road parking. We seek the highest standards to make your visit comfortable and pleasurable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pentland Lodge House Hotel Thurso
Pentland Lodge House Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing