We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, welcoming and friendly- first class”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentland Lodge House
Ranked #3 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A great find. We felt at home from the minute we walked in. Lisa welcomed us on arrival and gave us information about breakfast etc and told us to call her if we needed anything at all. A beautiful room - the Middleton Suite very spacious and immaculately clean. Large comfortable bed, sofa, two comfy chairs, tea tray with home made local biscuits, large tv, spacious en suite with large double power shower and complimentary toiletries and extras such as nail file, sewing kit, body lotion. Lots of great well written information and advice in the bedroom folders. Fab breakfast mostly all local produce. They really do put their guests first and it shows. We will definitely return when next in the area. Thank you so much Lisa and Liz.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chanelbabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment trip for a possibility of sighting the Northern Lights. Found the image on the internet, a telephone call - sorted!
Nice, quiet and well presented. Very clean. Friendly, helpful and informal proprietress, Lisa. Food in the pubs etc. stop serving at 9 p.m.
Ample car parking, Wifi and close to views of the coast.
We would definitely stay here again on future trips. 10/10 all round.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here on business, thought that I had been booked into the Pentland Hotel but this is where I ended up and so pleased that I did. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and a large comfy bed. Host was most welcoming and the breakfast cooked to order which was very good........... I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our room was very spacious, probably to big for our need to have an overnight stay and early start to catch the Orkney Isl. Ferry. Nevertheless the space, amenities and good night sleep in a a comfortable bed makes this a good choice. Perhaps a little high in price but a large cooked breakfast and wonderful host more than made up for that. We would recommend it and would stay again should the opportunity arise. Plenty of parking space off road which we valued when having a rental car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, clean, well run and friendly B&B you need look no further than Pentland Lodge House. The rooms are modern, roomy and spotlessly clean - the beds are large and comfortable. The girls are cheerful and obliging. We returned after 10pm to find Lisa waiting for some guests to check in - there was no moaning or complaining and she was just as cheerful when we went down for breakfast the next morning. The breakfast room looks fresh and has a nice view of the sea. There is a buffet with juices, fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt then there is a choice of cooked breakfast. I tried the famous poached eggs on my last visit so this time I tried the sausages, bacon and black pudding - they come from a local butcher and were of excellent quality. It was all freshly cooked and delicious. There is also plenty of tea, coffee and toast. You are not rushed so you feel you can linger over coffee and look at the view.
Its my second stay and when in Thurso again it will definitely be my B&B of choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuillich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent one night in Pentland Lodge house before catching the early ferry to Orkney. We were welcomed by Tracey (a lovely Scottish lass) who also cooked us a delightful early breakfast the next day. Tracey cooked the Most perfect poached eggs and also gave us a hint as to how to cook the perfect poached egg back home in Australia! Our room was beautifully decorated clean and the bed extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 958Raylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am in a wheelchair so had to look for a B&B with disabled access. A lot of places say they are but they don't think of the whole picture of car to room. Pentland lodge house did and what a lovely relaxing stay we had whilst my partner competed in the Scottish Ploughing. The room was spacious and I didn't end up banging into everything when moving around! The staff were very friendly, including their lovely dog Molly and nothing was too much trouble. Would love to visit the area in summer as it was spectacular at this time of year. I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this to other disabled people. Thank you Liz :-)

Room Tip: Cairnmore is the disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
4.8 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
313 reviews
14.8 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marine, Thurso
The Marine, Thurso
#2 of 19 in Thurso
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camfield House
Camfield House
#4 of 19 in Thurso
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray House
Murray House
#6 of 19 in Thurso
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Y-Not
The Inn at Y-Not
#7 of 19 in Thurso
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentland Lodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentland Lodge House

Address: Pentland Lodge House Granville Street, Thurso KW14 7JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range: $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pentland Lodge House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentland Lodge House blends the spacious luxury of old style rooms with contemporary style and high quality, modern facilities. All rooms have king size beds, power shower en suite, free broadband internet connectivity, flat screen TV, desk and seating space. This listed building is within a short stroll of the main town and offers some spectacular views over Thurso Bay. Plenty off-road parking. We seek the highest standards to make your visit comfortable and pleasurable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pentland Lodge House Hotel Thurso
Pentland Lodge House Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing