We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent peaceful spot close to beautiful sites...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Rowan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Rowan Cottage
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom1
Bathroom2
Kitchen Dining
Garden Area
View over fields
Verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
M C
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent peaceful spot close to beautiful sites but quiet”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice chalet. Owners very helpful if needed but as everything was spot on so did not need assistance.So much to see and do.Beautiful area , great Beach just up the road.Difficult to fit everything in in just a week.If you love the great outdoors Caithness is superb.
The chalet is only 10 minutes from Gills Ferry so took a day trip to Orkney as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location to explore the area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
Wigston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Rowan Cottage because of its location and flexibility in booking as we only wanted 5 nights. The cottage was very comfortable and provided all we needed for a self catering stay. The warm welcome was supplemented by 'home grown' eggs. Unfortunately the weather (the worst June for many years) prevented us taking advantage of the decking. Its position was very convenient for covering all of Caithness. One comment we would make is that the decoration in the living area could do with brightening however that is down to personal taste. However we would still be more than happy to stay again and to recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Standard of accomodation
Liked least: Colour scheme
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solway31
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
1 review
“great rowan cottage was warm clean and was in a very quiet but good location”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great holiday at Rowan cottage the cottage was every thing we needed.it was so quiet around the cottage we saw birds I have not seen since child hood a little wren and a cuckoo .But the cottage was in a good area for going out and about and not to far to some great beaches which our large German shepherd really enjoyed

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnhagan...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect wee highland hideaway!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A beautiful little cabin/cottage situated just perfectly within reach of all the wonderful northern towns. A comfy cozy little home from home ideal for us to go visit on the north of scotland. Lovely hosts and neighbours(sheep , ducks and chickens included) Sylvia, Bob and family weren't too far if we needed help with anything. 10/10 for us and will be sure to go back soon. Highly recommend this lovely wee place to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed December 24, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here from 15th to the 19th of December and I can't complain had a great holiday,good location. We managed to explore the highlands and majority of the tourist attractions due to where the cottage is situated. Car is definitely essential and other than getting lost finding the cottage (due to our own fault) there's nothing I can fault the cottage on. Ownews were welcoming and lovely horses.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful log cabin in idyllic setting”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous getaway from it all.....breathtaking scenery and accommodation comfortable and clean with all that is required. Friendly hosts living close by. Ample parking. Would definitely stay at the log cabin again. Such an inviting haven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Liked least: Unable to obtain wi-fi on our laptop as main hub was in close-by house which owner lived in
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
315954Kat...
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and everything you could possibly want in a holiday let.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Set just outside of Castletown, this perfect little cabin was a lovely warm place to come back to while I was in Caithness. Although being a detached cabin with it's own outdoor space it was reassuring knowing that Sylvia and Bob were close if I needed anything (or had a blonde moment when I couldn't get the tv working) which I really appreciated as I was travelling alone. I would highly recommend this accommodation, a few extra touches like fluffy towels, fresh flowers and a lovely warm quilt meant this accommodation exceeded my expectations. Thank you Sylvia and Bob.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy the cottage felt
Liked least: Leaving after such a short stay
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing