We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit, you won't be dissapointed.”
Review of Cups - CLOSED

Cups
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quirky little vintage tearoom for lovers of all things tea and cake. Set in an old chapel nestled in the fishing port of Scrabster,the last stop on the mainland before catching the ferry to Orkney. All home cooked meats and soups using local produce. Home baking prepared in the tearoom using traditional recipes given by family and friends. We serve food all day which include breakfast, light lunches, and a choice of homemade soups. We are also fully licenced and stock local ales, wines and spirits.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had been recommended this little restaurant and decided to visit for a light lunch. It's located in a converted chapel, its brightly decorated and very clean. The menu offers a good range of light snacks, cakes, scones, tea's, coffees and there is also a specials board. Everything is freshly prepared and all home cooked. The waiting staff were very friendly. This quaint little restaurant is well worth a visit and I'm sure it will become a regular haunt of ours.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CupsScrabster, Owner at Cups, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, delighted that you enjoyed Cups and the 'Tea Set'! Hope to see you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'm a scone connoisseur and can highly recommend this tea room. It's quaint, quirky, spotlessly clean and the customer service was second to none - welcomed with a warm smile!

I wouldn't hesitate to return or take friends there.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scotsguy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CupsScrabster, Owner at Cups, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Bit of a sconny face myself, it's my mums recipe glad you enjoyed them! Thank you for the great review xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely place, great cuppa, cakes, scones....... enjoyed a lovely afternoon socialising in this quaint little tearoom. Thank you so much.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Divanp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CupsScrabster, Owner at Cups, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for coming to visit, glad you enjoyed Cups!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found this lovely Cafe / Restaurant in Scrabster very close to the sea. Had a superb Coffee and the cakes were divine. Huge portions and good value for money. The staff and owner ( Roz ) were ever so helpfull and the service second to none. Very clean and a great atmosphere.You need to visit the bathroom and read the poetry on the wall.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank westmorland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CupsScrabster, Owner at Cups, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Glad you had a great time and enjoyed Cups, haste ye back! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

too expensive, cupcakes not great quality had better out the supermarket, and quite smell. Building is crammed with tables and chairs no room to move. Would not recommend

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CupsScrabster, Owner at Cups, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

I'm really sorry you didn't have a good time. Cups is a vintage tearoom, we don't do mugs just china teacups! Pop in next time you are passing so we can have a proper chat about what you think went wrong x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cups also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing