We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine!!”
Review of Cups - CLOSED

Cups
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quirky little vintage tearoom for lovers of all things tea and cake. Set in an old chapel nestled in the fishing port of Scrabster,the last stop on the mainland before catching the ferry to Orkney. All home cooked meats and soups using local produce. Home baking prepared in the tearoom using traditional recipes given by family and friends. We serve food all day which include breakfast, light lunches, and a choice of homemade soups. We are also fully licenced and stock local ales, wines and spirits.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Devine!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stopped here while waiting for the Orkney ferry (just a 30 second walk from the ferry terminal car park). Charming little tearoom, lovely warm welcome from the staff who were ever so accommodating. Delicious home baking (try the fruit scones with cream!!). Best cuppa north of the border! We will definitely be stopping here on the way home!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    41
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely lush!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great little hidden gem!

Reasonably priced, great food and even better coffees! I would definitely recommend this lovely cafe if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dindins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated but let down by poor service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The cafe is beautifully decorated and I loved the tea cups and tea cosies. The service was poor which let down the overall visit. The company I was in made it bearable

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissWooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely baking and a warm welcome”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Took my daughter here for a treat last week. Immaculately clean, the tearoom is painted in soft pastel tones, and tables are set with pretty cloths. We enjoyed a nice lunch plus a proper china pot of tea for 2 (instead of one of those AWFUL steel ones that everywhere else insists on using), and 2 slices of the lightest and most delicious Victoria sponge I have ever eaten. All served on delightfully mis-matched china, with proper cake forks and teaspoons. Service was prompt and friendly, and our meal was extremely good value at £17 for the two of us.
Well done Ros for setting up such a nice tearoom. Hopefully some other businesses in town will raise their game now that Cups has set the new benchmark for excellent customer service in such attractive surroundings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiddlewifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Excellent tea rooms”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Friendly,homely tea rooms in an old chapel.Food great.Try Orkney pork and cranberry or pork and haggis sausages.Soups superb.Cakes wow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cups also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing