We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
323 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“nice small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

arrived on long tour of Scotland desperately in need of bath previous hotels only had showers when we arrived was given room with bath with no problem room was in courtyard behind main building owners showed us to room and were very friendly rooms excellent and recently renovated food and service excellent I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    85
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
30
148
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very helpful staff here. It is an imposing building with a large bar and a large dining room.but not too many guest rooms. It was very quiet the evening we called in with only two other couples in the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the menu offers a good choice. Food was a little slow in arriving but was freshly prepared and very tasty. A very pleasant lace to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Small hotel behind its restaurant and bar fronting the main road 18km away from Thurso in the tiny village of Mey.Good for exploring Mey's Castle (the late Queen Mother's favourite castle) but a bit of a track into town if didnt want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88takeiteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife during our recent tour of Scotland.
It was excellent in every way, we only booked for 3 days but it was the best hotel we stayed at on our travels and so we soon wished we had booked for longer.
The owners were fairly new and had refurbished the hotel to a very high
standard, especially the en suite bedrooms. Everything seemed new and shining yet comfortable and relaxed. The restaurant too was really
first class, their evening meals were always appetizing - and always freshly cooked. As for breakfast, they had an extensive menu - including
a sumptuous 'full Scottish breakfast' but in fact you could request them
to cook you practically anything you fancied.
It ticked all the boxes for us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatwickJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've recently stayed here for a couple of nights, the welcome from the owners was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is small with maybe 10-12 rooms, the lounge bar and restaurant are comfortable and very clean as was the room (although the room decor is dated), like the room the bathroom was spotless and furnished to a more modern standard. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful (there were three different waitress's working during our stay, all were very attentive). The breakfast choice of cereals etc was good and the cooked breakfast was to a good standard though not everything on offer appeared to be shown on the menu, I was unable to finish as the portions were generous. The evening meals were excellent on both nights. I visit Thurso two or three times a year and normally stay in the town (this hotel is 10-12 miles outside Thurso) but I found this hotel and stay to be very pleasant, I will stay here on future visits. One minor complaint was that I found the room to be a little cold and when the radiator was on it didn't get above luke warm but this will not deter me from further stays!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0key2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

On our trip to visit the castle and gardens, my friend and I were delighted to find this lovely hotel in close proximity.
The welcome from owners, Jean & Bill, could not have been warmer and staff were efficient and friendly.
Our room and bathroom were of a high standard and spotlessly clean.
In addition to very comfortable beds, armchairs ensured pleasant TV viewing at the end of a happy day.
We enjoyed hearty, well cooked breakfasts, evening meals were delicious, with varied menu and were reasonably priced. All in all a real treat !
Stella Bain, Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is an honest and accurate review, which I accept does not mirror the positive comments about his hotel other reviewers have made. The hotel is very nicely presented. All the staff and the co - owners were vey pleasant though I suspect the lady owner is new to the industry. A complaint about the quality of the food (which was left uneaten so she could see the problem) was met with a giggle from her and we were charged full price . The food on our visit was not good and given part of the meal consisted of yesterdays meat and veg reheated was expensive. I have written this review so fellow travelers are made aware.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Blueskies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Owner at Castle Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am really sorry that your meal was not up to our standard. I always take any complaints very seriously. I would not laugh and if you had you been specific at the time I would of course have re-imbursed you.
We are new to the industry but as you can see from our many reviews we go out of our way to make guests welcome and enjoy their time at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
15.7 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
25.5 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arms Hotel

Property: Castle Arms Hotel
Address: Mey, Thurso KW14 8XH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel was originally a 19th. century coaching inn which has been updated and extended over the years. We took over the Hotel on 7th. September 2012 and have carried out extensive refurbishments over the winter months, beginning with totally new en-suites for each room which were completed by the end of February, 2013.We have added new furniture and lamps and will be redecorating every room and adding new beds and other furniture to present a higher standard than before.The exterior of the Hotel is currently being repainted and this work should be completed before the end of May, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Arms Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing