We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely people and beautiful place.Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennyland House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennyland House B&B
Save
You added Pennyland House B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 21 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely people and beautiful place.Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome by Raymond and Carol. Our room, The Royal Dornoch, was huge , beautifully furnished and absolutely immaculate. The breakfast was outstanding too with views out to Hoy as a bonus. We were amazed that this only cost £70 per night! As well as falling in love with Caithness, Pennyland House is An attraction in itself. A fantastic B&B.you may be a few hundred miles away but we will return.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blondel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
188
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in "Carnoustie" room, single occupancy, whilst visiting Thurso Rotary Club.
Lovely large, bright and clean room with a King size bed plus a single alongside.

I can't fault it, everything you would want is here, everything is top quality, so very comfortable, masses of hot water too. Breakfast is huge and delicious and you can have exactly what you want at a pre-arranged time.

All the previous reveiws say it all...if you are looking for a B&B in Thurso, situated just nicely a short walk out of town, so nice and quiet with lovely views across the Pentland Firth to Orkney, you really can't go wrong.

Give Carol and Raymond a ring and book before it's too late!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil10127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Carol and Ray are such good hosts, making sure we had everything we needed through-out our stay. Breakfast was superb with lots of healthy options and freshly brewed coffee. Our room was a good size with such a gorgeous big bed! Just wait until you sample the amazing bath! So nice to be able to stretch out and soak our tired legs. The small touches made our stay special, such as the DVD selection and home-made shortbread, but really it's the owners that make this house a home from home, and we wish you all the success with your future plans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodo_B060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although we usually use TripAdvisor to search out our hotels/b&b I must admit that we do not always follow up our stay with a review.
In this case however we felt that the attention to detail and hospitality shown by our hosts at Pennylands warranted our comments, if only to supplement the many glowing reviews already posted by others.
To be honest we cannot find sufficient superlatives to fully convey just how welcome we were made to feel during our two day stay. This trip was part of my 65th Birthday celebrations and although the Scottish weather could have been a little better, the overall cleanliness and quality of the rooms coupled with the extensive and freshly prepared breakfasts, certainly made it a birthday to remember.
If you are planning to tour the North of Scotland or are intending to travel on to the Orkneys we can wholehearted recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We had Royal Dornoch and enjoyed a view across the Pentland Firth to the Orkneys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Catol and Raymond could not have been more accomodating. Ferry cancellations dissarranged our entire holiday necessitating last minute changes of dates of travel. Carol and Raymond were kind, patient and exceedingly helpfull. They were able to refer us to a (nearly) equally memorable B & B nearby when they could not accomodate us. Comfortable room with a generous bathroom and beautiful view, plenty of electrical outlets (it may seem like a small thing but it makes a BIG difference). Breakfast was very nearly perfect. The haggis was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I sayed four nights at this beautiful B&B from 22nd January 2013 I must say this is the most beautiful B&B I have ever had the pleasure to stay in,
The rooms were very modern comfortable and spotlessly clean with amazing views, the hosts Carol and Raymond are very friendly and can not do enough for you, Carol makes her own Jams marmalade and tasty homemade shortbread, and you are welcome to sit in there lounge/dinning area to relax and take in the lovely views of scrabster and on a clear day the Orkney's, I must say you arrive as guests and leave as friends, I can not wait for my next stay with them in September.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Pennyland House for three nights in April '13. A warm welcome was received from Raymond and Carol, who were thoughtful and kindly hosts throughout our stay. We stayed in the St Andrew's room, overlooking the sea, and could watch the ferry for Orkney come and go. The bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious and attractive. In fact Pennyland House has been restored beautifully and it was a pleasure to stay there. It was easy to either walk or drive to the town center, and there was so much to do in the area we plan to return. A good value, very special place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved the St Andrew's room, but expect others would be of similar character and ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobartConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
4.6 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine, Thurso
The Marine, Thurso
#3 of 21 in Thurso
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyland House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyland House B&B

Property: Pennyland House B&B
Address: Pennyland House Pennyland House, Thurso KW14 7JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyland House is located on the edge of Thurso in a quiet, but convenient location and boasts wonderful views of the Orkney Islands, Dunnet Head, Scrabster and Thurso Bay. It is a three story building dating back over two hundred years. Built in 1780 it is historically noted for being the birthplace of Sir William Alexander Smith, the founder of the Boys Brigade. Over the past few years we have sympathetically renovated this historic building and turned it into a comfortable and interesting bed and breakfast for our guests. Although not yet rated, we are confident that you will not be disappointed with the quality and service during your stay with us. We have enjoyed putting our personal stamp on Pennyland House and have tried to reflect what we believe people want in a 'home from home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennyland House B&B Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing