We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pennyland House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennyland House B&B
Ranked #1 of 20 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at Pennyland House with my son last September on a short cycle trip up through the Highlands to John O'Groats. I have stayed in many highly rated hotels which did not come close to matching the quality of accommodation you get here. It is simply a lovely place to stay in every way - beautifully decorated with an open and airy feel and spotlessly clean. But the standard of our welcome and hospitality was even better. Not only were we allowed to drop off our bags on the way through Thurso, in order to make the ride to John O'Groats much easier, we were welcomed in to be plied with tea and biscuits to help us on our way. On returning in the evening very tired and saddle-sore, a good restaurant was recommended, and a reservation made for us while we showered. You just will not do better than this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
197
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberfoyle, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great location on seafront in Thurso, parking, wifi that works, great breakfast & lovely room. Ideal really. FYI currently only take cash or cheque, which wasn't an issue for me. Whole place was very clean and even had a big rack of dvds to borrow

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I sayed four nights at this beautiful B&B from 22nd January 2013 I must say this is the most beautiful B&B I have ever had the pleasure to stay in,
The rooms were very modern comfortable and spotlessly clean with amazing views, the hosts Carol and Raymond are very friendly and can not do enough for you, Carol makes her own Jams marmalade and tasty homemade shortbread, and you are welcome to sit in there lounge/dinning area to relax and take in the lovely views of scrabster and on a clear day the Orkney's, I must say you arrive as guests and leave as friends, I can not wait for my next stay with them in September.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy,fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Thurso last weekend mixing business with a little sightseeing and could not have picked a better place to stay. The Pennyland is beautifully decorated and the rooms are the last word in comfort,style,outlook and taste coupled with a superbly equipped and furnished ensuite....Bliss!
Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful,with nothing too much trouble. Enjoying breakfast whilst looking out over the sea to Orkney from their diningroom was wonderful.Breakfast was very tasty,plentiful and the choice was huge.....all beautifully set out.
Our stay at the Pennyland together with the spectacular coastal walks made our short stay in Thurso absolutely perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcyhartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

If your travels take you to northern Scotland, Pennyland House B&B in Thurso provides a luxuriously comfortable home base to explore beautiful Caithness. Raymond and Carol have created the perfect guest house, immaculate and beautifully furnished throughout, with large comfortable ensuite guest rooms, delicious breakfasts cooked to order, and friendly conversation and advice on what to see and do during our stay without being intrusive. Truly a five-star B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Absoulutely blown away by this beautiful b&b. Carol & Raymond have got everything right,the attention to detail in every aspect of this beautiful house is amazing and warrants a 5*****.
The rooms are luxurious, warm, and extremely clean and the beds ooohh so very comfy. A beautiful grand staircase leads you to your bedroom and on the landing is a good selection of dvd's and books for guests use. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room with amazing views to the Orkneys and what a breakfast!! The cooked breakfast was well presented with everything you could wish for the breakfast lasted us both all day.
This is an amazing place with exceptional hosts, Carol & Raymond have thought of everthing to make guests welcome right down to home made shortbread in your bedroom-mmmnn
As this was December the house was beautifully done up for Christmas and we have taken away many happy memories of our stay here

Room Tip: The rooms at the top were quiet, warm, large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Deceiving at first glance to the eye from the outside, but Carol and Raymond own and run a very classy establishment indeed. The interior is warm, welcoming and very homely. There are some lovely touches to note. A wonderfully grand staircase to all floors, dvd and book cases for your use in your rooms on the first floor landing, quality fixtures and fittings adorn all walls and rooms. You can just feel that Carol and Raymond have gone to a lot of effort to put Pennyland on the map and it shows. They are both too modest to acknowledge it. With Raymond's experience in the hospitality industry, it is so clear that this modern establishment will succeed. A large cafetiere with fresh coffee and pennyland shortbread made there for us to munch on after a long drive. Top end quality bedsheets, runners and furniture round the rooms off well. Raymond is a big golf fan and the rooms are named after the courses he has played on. Lovely sized tvs in the rooms with internal dvd player for your convenience. Lovely soft lighting thoughout and crisp and sharp brushed aluminium door handles and plug sockets. Understated but seriously classy....!

Room Tip: They are all cracking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
4.6 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
14.2 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camfield House
Camfield House
#2 of 20 in Thurso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine, Thurso
The Marine, Thurso
#4 of 20 in Thurso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyland House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyland House B&B

Property: Pennyland House B&B
Address: Pennyland House Pennyland House, Thurso KW14 7JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyland House is located on the edge of Thurso in a quiet, but convenient location and boasts wonderful views of the Orkney Islands, Dunnet Head, Scrabster and Thurso Bay. It is a three story building dating back over two hundred years. Built in 1780 it is historically noted for being the birthplace of Sir William Alexander Smith, the founder of the Boys Brigade. Over the past few years we have sympathetically renovated this historic building and turned it into a comfortable and interesting bed and breakfast for our guests. Although not yet rated, we are confident that you will not be disappointed with the quality and service during your stay with us. We have enjoyed putting our personal stamp on Pennyland House and have tried to reflect what we believe people want in a 'home from home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennyland House B&B Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing