We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pennyland B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennyland House B&B
Ranked #1 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pennyland B&B”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a wonderful place! Stayed with a colleague for work in mid October. We were out walking all day and it was great to return to such a lovely B&B with lush rooms, homemade shortbread, great showers and able to relax. Would definitely stay again if up this far north. Best accommodation for miles around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
207
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great place! This has to be the best value B&B around, Carol and Raymond make you feel like you have arrived somewhere special and are a really nice couple. The room we stayed in was a great size with a huge bathroom all very tastefully laid out. The breakfast was huge with a great choice, porridge and a scottish for me and a full scottish(haggis and black pudding) for Jon. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in the St Andrews room, beautiful large room, with an enormous bathroom, power shower and spa bath, beautiful comfortable bed, welcoming hosts and great breakfasts, everything was just as one would want it to be, Close enough to walk into Thurso, with sea views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gems151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From arrival everything was perfect from the friendliest of welcomes to an in depth knowledge of the surrounding area. Raymond even recommended and booked the restaurants for our evening meals. Beautifully decorated house, great views, scrupulously clean large en-suite bedrooms and very comfy beds.Powerful showers with plenty of hot water, enough to fill the oversized bath. Breakfast is not to be rushed with a large selection of local produce on offer, cooked and served by genial hosts Raymond and Carol. This is one of the nicest establishments we have ever stayed in and certainly outshines any others in this area. Thank you Carol and Raymond for a wonderful few days, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eltelrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! Everything in superlatives. They were welcoming, the room was brilliant, very roomy and beautifully appointed with a gorgeous large bathroom. Plus the price was good. We had a wonderful overnight stay. Thanks to out lovely hosts.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoanSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pennyland is a stunning, comfortable house. Carol and Raymond give a warm welcome to their home. The decor is beautiful and very tasteful. Large, comfortable bed in a very spacious room with a fantastic en-suite and excellent shower.Delicious breakfast. Don't just stop on the way to the Orkney ferry for one night, stay longer and explore the area as Pennyland is a fantastic guest house!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I cannot say that I am a great expert on hotels in Thurso, but I have stayed in several over the years and they have all been disappointing. Having seen the reviews on Tripadvisor, I thought I would try Pennyland House when I was passing through this month. I am glad that I did as it was a fantastic experience. The welcome is warm and the owners, Raymond and Carol, could not be friendlier nor more helpful. The rooms are very well equipped, tastefully designed/decorated and tremendously comfortable. I slept very well indeed. Breakfast was excellent and I felt very much at home. They have not been in business for all that long but seem very busy. I am not surprised. If only all hotels and B&Bs could be like this.

Pennyland House is on the western edge of Thurso, just before the turnoff to the port of Scrabster. It would therefore make a perfect base either for a short break in Caithness or a stopover either before or after taking the Orkney ferry. Equally, it would be a good place for the business traveller to spend a few nights. I hope to return in future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDEXExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
5.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
218 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
235 reviews
14.2 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyland House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyland House B&B

Property: Pennyland House B&B
Address: Pennyland House | A9, Thurso KW14 7JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyland House is located on the edge of Thurso in a quiet, but convenient location and boasts wonderful views of the Orkney Islands, Dunnet Head, Scrabster and Thurso Bay. It is a three story building dating back over two hundred years. Built in 1780 it is historically noted for being the birthplace of Sir William Alexander Smith, the founder of the Boys Brigade. Over the past few years we have sympathetically renovated this historic building and turned it into a comfortable and interesting bed and breakfast for our guests. Although not yet rated, we are confident that you will not be disappointed with the quality and service during your stay with us. We have enjoyed putting our personal stamp on Pennyland House and have tried to reflect what we believe people want in a 'home from home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennyland House B&B Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing