We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Haven”
Review of Forss House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forss House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Forss House Hotel is a heavenly oasis of exceptional hospitality at the top of Scotland. After driving along miles and miles of cultivated countryside it was lovely to enter the deeply wooded driveway to Forss House.
I was predisposed to like 'Forss House,' as from my very first contact with Forss House manager Kathy, I was made to feel like I was a cherished relative coming home.
On arrival we were greeted warmly by the energetic and sprightly Anne. Anne showed us around and orientated us to our room, the bar, the dining room, and the lovely gardens.
We stayed in the spacious Cairnmore Room. Every creature comfort was provided. The suite was tastefully decorated with lovely soft furnishings, and beautiful antiques. The views were stunning. The bed was divine; there was a good selection of both firm and soft pillows, there were ample luggage racks, plenty of wardrobe space, a flat screen television, fast uncomplicated free WiFi, and a desk! I love being able to sit down and sort through maps and tour guides, write postcards, and attend to other business at a proper desk.
The bathroom was huge, with a generously deep claw-foot roll-top bathtub, as well as a stand-alone shower. The in-room toiletries were high quality, herbal infused, and locally produced. The bath towels were blissfully big, soft and fluffy.
Before checking-in, we 'checked out' Thurso, and were glad with our decision to dine-in, at 'Forss House'.
Anne entertained us in the cosy bar area before dinner, playfully admonishing my husband for wanting a Gin and Tonic when she had over 300 superb single malt whiskies on offer. Anne was happy to recommend an exquisite local single malt for me, and with great flourish added an 'angel's tear' worth of water, "to open up the flavour," from the quaint brass tap on the bar.
My husband and I very much enjoyed our scallop entrées and beef medallion main courses. We were attended to by very sweet and personable waitstaff.
Breakfast the next morning was served on the conservatory verandah, overlooking the beautiful gardens, and was similarly delicious.
There is a lot to love about Forss House Hotel. The wooded grounds, manicured gardens, and lawns are gorgeous. The byrne and waterfall, the prettiest I have ever seen. The hotel is exceptionally well managed. Our room was very comfortable, and the meals delicious; but it was the perceptible warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff that will stay in our memories forever.
We had the pleasure to meet delightful 'Forss House Hotel,' manager Kathy as we checked out. Kathy was the first person I spoke with from Forss House when I made our booking, and the one who bid us a farewell. Words cannot express how special she made us feel.

Room Tip: We loved the huge master 'Cairnmore Room.' We had wonderful views over the beautiful gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u7jf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very comfortable room and friendly staff. The food quality (breakfast and dinner) was excellent, but the experience was spoiled by slow restaurant service on one evening and the dinner menu was the same for each of the three nights. The room (in the River House annexe) was very spacious, clean, comfortable and well furnished, although the view from the room was a little disappointing (an ill-maintained lawn and a few trees) - we were expecting a river view!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks very much for your review and I’m pleased you have rated us so highly but I do see there are a couple of points where we didn’t do quiet as well as we would like. We do take your feedback seriously and I hope the following comments and actions reassure you of our good intentions.
You’re right, the food is excellent and it’s great you ate with us on a number of nights. As you know the chefs put a lot of effort into every plate that leaves the kitchen but it sounds like we were a little slow on one of the nights you dined. We will look at this and see what we can do to speed things up without reducing the quality of the food.
It’s true the menu doesn’t change every day but to provide guests with lots of choice we operate a seasonal menu offering 4 choices of what’s best from the estates, rivers and coastline that surround us for each course. To add to the choice we also offer daily specials and for those staying with us for longer we discuss with them what they might like to eat rather than choosing from the menu.
I’m glad you enjoyed River House which is set in our 21 acres of woodland, which is a rarity in Caithness, but it sounds like we need to review our lawn mowing schedule. The main lawns are cut twice a week at this time of year but River House is once a week, we will change this to twice a week. Then finally to views. Some of our rooms do have wonderful views of the River Forss but sadly not all. I notice that you booked on-line so we will make sure that our web site does indicate which rooms have a river view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well, what can I say but GREAT, FANTASTIC, HOME-LIKE, and WHISKEY!
The Johnson family spent a luxurious week, having sumptuous meals every night in the company of gorgeous Annie and enjoying her lessons about drinking whiskey. We have been going for 30 years and we love it.........

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you Iain for your great review. The only comment from me is to tell you that in Scotland the hard stuff is spelt Whisky without the E (but with your Irish blood it's easy to get it wrong!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

An excellent choice of hotel. Very professional, polite, and attentive staff. Spotlessly clean, and rooms well appointed in every area. All meals offered an excellent choice, served by staff who really did care, how refreshing in this day and age. Breakfast was warm and welcoming . really could not have been better, all credit to all members of this hotel for their attention to detail, and the enjoyment of their guests.
Thank you.

Room Tip: It would be wrong to comments on rooms that I have not seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V-K1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review which is greatly appreciated by us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed only one night
Room was perfect, clean and quiet,
The managing lady and her staff of waitresses attended to us in perfect harmony
Food was delicious, served in good style
Breakfast impeccable

Room Tip: Stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oguz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank-you so much for your kind review. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hosts, the food is exquisite and the rooms are beautiful. The location is a bit remote but very beautiful - right next to a waterfall.

Pity we arrived late at night and had to leave in the morning. Should have spent more time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmeister81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Falls Cottage which cost £130 for B&B. It was cold at night as only one blanket and a thin quilt on the bed - spare blankets tucked away and not immediately obvious in the middle of the night! Most hotels supply duvets nowadays - the room seemed rather old fashioned!

Shower over bath was awkward to use and bath very narrow - enamel in bath chipped and dead insects in the bath.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special - had to ask for hot water for tea.

On checking out I said twice that it was very expensive for what you get - and got the reply " I know what you mean!" - twice -as the lady took my money.

If this was 3 star hotel charging a lot less I would have had no complaints but it certainly is not a four star establishment!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryWragg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Owner at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and further detail when we spoke to you on the phone this week. We are sorry that your stay failed to live up to the high expectations that we set ourselves and hope that we will have another chance to show you Forss House Hotel at its best sometime in the future.
The heating in Falls does not easily adapt to quick changes in temperatures but we should have remedied this before your arrival. The heating is being updated to central heating next month when our new Biomass Boiler is installed in the hotel - but this was of course no help to you. We have looked internally at the other points about our service and housekeeping that you raise and have taken steps to try to ensure that they are not repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
10.1 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
219 reviews
20.9 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
58 reviews
23.1 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
468 reviews
5.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forss House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forss House Hotel

Address: Forss, Thurso KW14 7XY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range: $170 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forss House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forss House is a delightful 1810 country home nestling in 20 acres of woodland, below a waterfall, on the gently meandering River Forss. A 14 bedroom family owned hotel Forss House is an elegant comfortable haven that puts you instantly at ease with a welcoming staff keen to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Forss House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forss Hotel Thurso
Forss House Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing