We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Forss House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forss House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hosts, the food is exquisite and the rooms are beautiful. The location is a bit remote but very beautiful - right next to a waterfall.

Pity we arrived late at night and had to leave in the morning. Should have spent more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmeister81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    48
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
162
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Falls Cottage which cost £130 for B&B. It was cold at night as only one blanket and a thin quilt on the bed - spare blankets tucked away and not immediately obvious in the middle of the night! Most hotels supply duvets nowadays - the room seemed rather old fashioned!

Shower over bath was awkward to use and bath very narrow - enamel in bath chipped and dead insects in the bath.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special - had to ask for hot water for tea.

On checking out I said twice that it was very expensive for what you get - and got the reply " I know what you mean!" - twice -as the lady took my money.

If this was 3 star hotel charging a lot less I would have had no complaints but it certainly is not a four star establishment!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryWragg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Owner at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and further detail when we spoke to you on the phone this week. We are sorry that your stay failed to live up to the high expectations that we set ourselves and hope that we will have another chance to show you Forss House Hotel at its best sometime in the future.
The heating in Falls does not easily adapt to quick changes in temperatures but we should have remedied this before your arrival. The heating is being updated to central heating next month when our new Biomass Boiler is installed in the hotel - but this was of course no help to you. We have looked internally at the other points about our service and housekeeping that you raise and have taken steps to try to ensure that they are not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is very rare to find a hotel that combines a big welcome and comfort with delicious local food in the north of Scotland and Forss ticks all the boxes.

Our room was both lovely and very comfortable and overlooked the river. Very spacious, with a sofa, fridge, TV, DVD player and radio and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The bathroom was large with a good sized bath with an efficient shower in it and the lovely bath products which they also sell at reception were all made by a local company that helps disadvantage people

We had dinner in the hotel both nights and were treated to delicious local produce, beautifully prepared and cooked. We ate scallops, venison, beef and cod and they were all perfectly cooked.

My only complaint would be that the only vegetable available as a side order was chips - quite delicious but not good for the waistline. The chocolate sponge pudding was in fact the most delicious chocolate fondant with a wonderful gooey centre.

The hotel is brilliantly managed by Anne who we understand has been there many years. The warm welcome was followed up by very helpful local information and when we returned from a wet walk in dripping clothes she immediately offered to wash and dry them and have them back in our room later that evening. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

There is plenty of interest round about - The Castle of Mey is just down the road and Dunnet Head has wonderful views to the Orkneys and there are lovely walks from the hotel and salmon fishing available on the river at the bottom of the garden.

The one thing the hotel lacks is a cosy sitting room but as we had such a lovely bedroom with a large sofa this was a minor complaint. There is a bar with a huge selection of malt whisky and in the hall there is a big selection of magazines to suit every taste and local maps to plan your day.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely and very quiet but the two straight ahead at the top of the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We do appreciate it and take on board the comments by our guests. We have now introduced a bowl of vegetables to go on each table (even when chips are ordered!). We do hope you'll be impressed if you ever are this far north in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a room in the River House, not the main hotel.
On arrival we were met by Ann, who runs the hotel, she gave us an excellent welcome, made us feel relaxed and at home.
Our room in the River House was spacious and very comfortable, patio doors lead out to a small garden at the back, tea and coffee facilities were provided, as well as robes an toiletries in the bath room
The bar in the main house is very well stocked, many whiskeys to try and Ann's knowledge of them was superb ... comfortable room to peruse the menu and await our table being ready.
The staff who attended us during our meal were polite, very friendly and helpful ... the food was amazingly good, loved every mouthful.
We spent time in the gardens and by the river, saw many fish jumping which made me wish I could fly fish.
In all the experience of staying at Forss is one I look forward to repeating ... wasn't sure about reviewing it as I would like to keep it all to myself, my little secret.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMcL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
How kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review which is appreciated by us all. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Last weekend my Brother-in-Law and I had arranged to meet and collect a friend who had completed the Land's End to John O'Groats trip unaccompanied on a cycle (two weeks and a 1000 miles in the saddle for charity!) So we booked three rooms at the Forss House in Thurso following a good review in a national press article (there did not seem to be many others hotels around) What an unexpected gem! From the booking on the telephone (speaking to a very helpful lady) to our check in and stay; the whole experience was a delight! The unbelievably helpful Manageress Anne had booked us in to three adjacient master double rooms in the 'River House' set in the beautiful grounds of the main building so that we could have three rooms together. And what rooms! big and spacious and very well appointed. The restaurant was excellent serving top quality food (and I mean by big City standards) at value for money prices; and the whisky selection in the bar was mind-blowing! (Although I guess in this part of Scotland that was only to be expected) The following morning we faced a 10 hour drive back to our homes in Staffordshire, so we ate a hearty breakfast of beautifully prepared local produce and set off on our way knowing we had indeed discovered a remarkably friendly little hotel that clearly strives to achieve extremely high standards.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group as we were, book rooms together in the River House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurodene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I haven't stayed here, but attended a family wedding recently. It's a lovely setting - quiet and relaxed with a river running through extensive gardens.

The interior of the hotel is chic country house - lots of original fittings and decorated to a high standard.

Our wedding meal was wonderful - beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were efficient, courteous and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them and they coped admirably with our wedding party plus the other hotel guests.

It's a perfect venue for a small wedding, and I recommend it highly as a place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it and are happy that you enjoyed being with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very helpful and considerate staff, wonderful rooms and great food. Very quiet so don't go if you want night life. I agree with an earlier reviewer there is no real need for the "musac" at breakfast, I would rather have the radio or silence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate our guests taking the time to write a review. We are going to try having no music at breakfast for a week to see if we have any comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
15.7 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
9.8 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
176 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
20.9 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
295 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forss House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forss House Hotel

Property: Forss House Hotel
Address: Forss, Thurso KW14 7XY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forss House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forss House is a delightful 1810 country home nestling in 20 acres of woodland, below a waterfall, on the gently meandering River Forss. A 14 bedroom family owned hotel Forss House is an elegant comfortable haven that puts you instantly at ease with a welcoming staff keen to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forss House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forss Hotel Thurso
Forss House Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing