We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Hotel(Thurso)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Murray House(Thurso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawthorns(Thurso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
258
61
24
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
61
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalmon fishingwine lista pre dinner drinkwonderful hotelscallopsgreat characterlovely groundsdining roomfirst classlambreception areadinner menuboth nightslovely ladyold friendslocal produceroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 346 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After three nights in the Torran suite (it was supposed to be a bedroom but the acreage was huge) you may very well feel just like one. The room was simply superb, the bed enormous and the food sumptuous. You may feel its expensive to stay here, you may think that £35 a head for dinner expensive, it isn't, it just isn't. Not for the quality of the offering it isn't. If you are thinking of coming to Thurso then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianchi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

We all appereciate your kind review and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We did not expect much at the price; but were surprised and delighted to be ushered into what we would have termed our En Suite Lodge, full of little luxuries - including an entrance lodge with provisions for our dogs so that they need not muddy our own rooms! Puzzled by the price, which was so low. Luxurious dining room and bar, with a personal and cosy welcome from the lady who ran it; full of interesting local information, and tuition regarding the many local whiskies (though not so many distilleries per mile as in the Spey Valley, south of Inverness).
Definitely a "go back again" choice. Our own parking space - like being at home, only much less work! Friendly and curious local children.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm8apx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Forss House on 8th February for one night. To make the most of it we made sure we were there early afternoon. The room, Cairnmore, was beautiful with lovely views over the river and gardens. A massive and comfortable bed, a sofa, CD's, books and a luxurious bathroom with a double ended, roll top, freestanding bath. To top it all, a little fridge with fresh milk for our tea. Anne was excellent and really made the experience special. The food and wine was delicious. As someone else mentioned, it really did feel like a home from home (with a much nicer bathroom and no housework to do!). The walks around the hotel are lovely and peaceful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanookmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

We all appreciate you taking the time to write a review and thank-you both for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a very, very long drive the Forss Hotel is the perfect tonic. Warm, welcoming and fantastic staff. Unfortunately we only could stay for one night, but if you are looking for somewhere for peace and relaxation, go no further. The rooms and food are excellent, and you really are welcomed into this place. Watch out for Ann, the font of all knowledge, if you need to know anything, just ask. As mentioned, we could only stay one night, but if we find ourselves in that part of the world again, we will be staying at Forss House.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review which all the staff are proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A return trip to Thurso on business, and was fortunate enough to secure a 2 night booking in the legendary Forss House. What can I say? It exceeded my expectations.....gorgeous room [Cairnmore] effectively a suite, overlooking the gardens, walk-in shower and free-standing double ended bath, massive bed, cashmere blanket on the bed, monogrammed towels etc, etc. The 'little touches' were extremely particular [surely they can barely make any profit...!], with local biscuits, bespoke china, highest quality linens etc.
Anne is truly an amazing lady - to find someone who cares so deeply about 'their' hotel and the guests is a rareity - if only hoteliers, large and small, could send their staff to Anne for an apprenticeship, the British hotel industry would be so much improved.
Can't really say enough really - the food was great, wine list came with personal recommendations from regular diners in the bar; all the staff were so very professional, friendly and caring.
I will definitely be returning to the Forss House next year, and I pray not one single inch of it or it's staff will have changed before I do.
Go and experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: The three rooms on the first floor that I peeked at all were of equally high standard - if you can overlook the lawns, even better!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonflyZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forss, Manager at Forss House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review which we appreciate very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews