We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vey tasty”

Pentland Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“vey tasty”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

large sized portions, lovely macaroni cheese. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice warm location on a winters evening

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DurhamJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    46
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“could be nicer”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is not really a restaurant as such but a bar which serves food.
None of the tables are set and the only difference to a weatherspoons was that a waitress came to take your order at the table instead of you ordering it at the bar!
I didnt have a starter or sweet but for my mains
I ordered the paprika pork medalions which were really tasty but I felt that this meal was overpriced(nearly £15 for what was essentially... pub grub)
It is certainly not somewhere I would go for a romantic meal/special occassion

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spaghetti AOP quite perfect”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

my search of italian restaurant in UK was good impressed of spaghetti AOP in this Pentland Hotel: just a minute less of cooking and they were perfect! But I'm italian and I like pasta "al dente". Warm and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rigube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good pasta”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arrived as the chef was leaving, at 9pm, but he stayed on for us. Staff were attentive and decor/setting was pleasing. Pasta was good, plenty of chorizo. Recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank des_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bravissimo!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Pentland Hotel restuarant is a delightful suprise especially the Italian pasta dishes. I had the Spaghetti Aglio recently and have never before enjoyed spaghetti so much - just beware the chillis (unless you want lips like Mick Jagger!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisKolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pentland Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Pentland Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing