We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melvich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melvich Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
Monkton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and restaurant were recommended to us by Secret Scotland. To cut a long story short, we booked the Melvich Hotel restaurant at the last minute. They usually need 2 or 3 days notice as everything is cooked fresh but thankfully chef could fit us in! You might think £30 before drinks is at the higher end of the budget but for 6 courses and the quality of the food, it is a very reasonnable price. Everything was so fresh and delicious - it's one of the best meals we've ever had! The staff are friendly, the food is second to none and the views are stunning! You do not want to miss this!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mariesplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
103
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weirton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I wanted to make it to the north coast on our second trip to Scotland. A lot of research brought us to the Melvich Hotel and it was probably the best choice of our trip. The owners have made this into an excellently cozy, clean, and beautiful property in one of the more remote areas of Scotland. The rooms are large and well decorated and the beds are comfortable. If you're one the sea side of the hotel the views are stunning and you can see Orkney if the weather is fair. Upon arrival, we were treated like friends as the owner took the time to talk to us and make suggestions about where to go and what to see. We are not the most adventurous eaters so we are hesitant with set menus but our itinerary let us eat at the hotel one night and Mr. Wyke did not disappoint. The set menu dinner was excellent and highly recommended if you stay. Breakfast was equally delicious. This is certainly a place I would not hesitate to stay at again and would recommend to anybody looking to stay on Scotland's beautiful north coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Infinite_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very good choice. My wife and I stayed for one night on our "tour" of the highlands. We chose Melvich Hotel by chance and were delighted we had done so. The staff are super-friendly and helpful. The set evening meal (five tasting courses) was excellent and tremendous value. The wines and drinks are well priced. We were in the bar afterwards and were made to feel very welcome by the staff and locals.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lionel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our second stay at this lovely hotel on the north coast of Scotland. We were greeted warmly by Rob and shown to our room. In discussion as to whether we were having an evening meal we said that on this occasion Rob's excellent menu would be too much for us. Rob asked us if we wanted something different and lighter to which we said yes. The salad and fish he presented was excellent and shows what a good host he is. Once again the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I contacted Rob when we got home as my wife thought she had left some jewellery he and the staff searched for the missing items for us and contacted us very quickly. The missing items turned up at home but Rob and staff took time and effort to help us with our problem. There is no doubt that when visiting the north of Scotland again we will want to stay at the Melvich

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Unfortunately I checked in here on a business trip for two nights, unfortunate because I wish I could have stayed longer, this is a tremendous little hotel in an excellent, scenic location. The owners are friendly and make you feel really welcome on arrival. The room I was given was a double with shower and had an excellent view out over a bay towards some cliffs, the room was comfortable and was very clean.The shower room / toilet was also spotless. The bed was very comfortable and I had two great nights sleep. Breakfast was available from 0730 or earlier if you wanted a continental choice, one point on that, there was no tea or coffee available before 0730 (that I could see anyway) so a kettle with a selection of tea and coffee would be good. The hot breakfast was very nice too.
The evening meal is a set menu with about six courses, each night is different and is, not to put too fine a point on it, Superb! The chef/owner uses fresh and locally produced products and turns out the most delicious dishes, small, nouvelle cuisine style, but extremely good and quite satisfying.
I am now planning a return trip on holiday rather than business. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Its Been two years since our last visit to the resturant of the Melvich Hotel and i honestly have to say it was the best dining experiance we have had since then. Absolutely fabulous set meal six courses of stunning food excellent presentation in superbe surroundings. Staff were excellent and on top of all that great value for money. A hidden gem on the north coast not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobbin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of our holiday driving up the East coast, across the top of Scotland and then down to the west and the Hebrides. The room was outstanding with an excellent view of the sea. The food was first class - very interesting taster menu. The only thing lacking was customers - come on people , this is a super hotel in a beautiful place so please visit !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
9.8 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
25.5 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
14.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvich Hotel

Property: Melvich Hotel
Address: Melvich by Thurso, Thurso KW14 7YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melvich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melvich Hotel changed ownership in October 2007 and after a lengthy six month refurbishment is now open for business again in 2008. With 14 bedrooms, a bar & restaurant, outdoor terrace and beautiful gardens overlooking Melvich Bay, it is the ideal location for anyone travelling through the North of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Melvich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melvich Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing