We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all new for 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Guest House
Ranked #17 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“all new for 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

i read the reviews of 2011 and was worried what i was coming to. But I shouldnt have been ! The guest house has been totally renovated - to hotel standard. all the rooms have brand new ensuite shower rooms and the bedrooms are lovely. I arrived early - around lunch time, and it was no problem checking in then. They had a garage for my bike to keep it secure and on the second day i got a packed breakfast to take on the early train with me. Really, nothing seemed to much bother. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: there is a Free wi-fi Hot spot for anyone to use - just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    7
    5
    19
See reviews for
9
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having booked in weeks earlier, it took only a few minutes to book out. I would rather have slept in my car. The bedroom was depressingly dark, none too clean and smelt of dogs. There was no shower mat or WiFi facilities, the one member of staff to whom I spoke was unhelpful. Tea and coffee-making facilities were minimal. My advice is to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Area21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thurso hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

This hotel, if that's an accurate description was more like a bad youth hostel, the room looked clean on the surface in much the same way a child cleans their bedroom, everything electrical was powered using bright orange extension cables from one socket. This hotel was notified weeks before arrival that we secure (off road) motorcycle parking which was agreed upon booking, on arrival we were directed a gate at the side which was barely wide enough for a push bike, the staffs attitude was if they couldn't care less and were told to park them on a busy main road. In summary there are plenty of hotels in Thurso, so avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ukmisterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaghc, Owner at Waterside Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Brand New Refurbishment May 2011 - check out the photos and make an informed decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Entry hall and Lounge very damp smelling. Rooms were old fashioned but comfortable enough. Breakfast was good but our party was disappointed with the accommodation.
Was in a very nice area beside the river and near to the centre of the Town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f_hmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
291 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed here with friends whilst on a tour of Scotland as the prices looked reasonable.
However this is without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in.
It was more like a very poor youth hostel than a B & B with old tired beds and furniture, no private parking.
Upon arrival the staff were unhelpful and there appeared to be only one bathroom between all the rooms and to top it all off one of our parties bed broke during the night !!

Never again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The entrance hall was nice but took one look beyond that and just could not stay, a lot of the rooms appeared to surround a single public room. It just reeked of an unloved and unclean B&B which just didn't care as long as they got your money.

The shower in our allocated room didn't work, they offered to let us use the one in another room, the only spanner in the works was that neither of the doors seemed to lock. We didn't stay more than 3 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y-Not Inn
Y-Not Inn
#7 of 19 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marine, Thurso
The Marine, Thurso
#4 of 19 in Thurso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Guest House

Property: Waterside Guest House
Address: 3 Janet Street, Thurso KW14 7AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REFURBISHED FOR 20115 Rooms. 4 x en-suite + 1 x with private shower room. Free internet coming soon. Free Public Gym & Swimming Pool entry to all guests. Free Breakfast. Large Guest House situated beside the beautiful River Thurso. In the heart of Thurso - well situated for Shops, Restaurants, Train station and Ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Guest House Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing