We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skara
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thurso
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Park Hotel(Thurso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
62
12
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorkney islandsb bwarm welcomestayed here for one nightno hesitation in recommendingcooked to perfectionexcellent breakfastgloriahostfacilitiesensuitebedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 75 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We rang early evening for rooms for 3 people the same night and Gloria was able to accommodate us. We were warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were excellent, great showers and we all slept well. Breakfast was great and the best tea around.
Definitely would return here and will certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kas711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This out of town B&B was a great find. Our only improvement suggestions would be an update of the website to reflect the first class accommodation and a wireless Internet booster to reach the bedrooms. Neither of which affect our intention to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r4_sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Had a fantastic stay at Skara and Gloria was a wonderful host and felt very welcome and comfortable imediatley. The rooms were newly decorated, clean and very well presented. But the best and most suprsing (we only found Skara the day we stayed!) were the breathtaking views of the Orkneys from the bedroom windows! Breakfast was lovely and had a good veggie option too. We will definitley be staying again as an ideal place to stop wen touring the coast road.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisajarred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Skara was our mid point on our road trip around Scotland. Lucky find here as we needed 3 rooms and Gloria was a great host. Great location and a very nice B&B with great views from all the rooms. For thos in the party that eat breakfast no one went short.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Pu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Upon arriving in Thurso, we contacted the local tourist information who booked us a room at the Skara. We were not disappointed. The tastefully decorated room and ensuite were immaculate and had stunning views of the north scottish coast. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. We both enjoyed a scottish breakfast and the eggs were cooked to perfection. Afterwards, the owner Gloria recommended some local sight should see before heading south and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews