We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at the end of end to end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Having completed our end to end cycle we were delighted without decision to stay at natural retreats. Very we'll appointed rooms with HDTV in each room, great showers and very spacious lounge in our northstar room. Superb and highly recommended. We were told that John o groats was not up to much - this development will change this perception and I wish it well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that we can welcome you back to another of our locations soon. Please do contact out concierge team for the best rates a returning guest. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Natural Retreats John O'Groats
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 538 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Positives: modern, spacious flat with great views out to sea and nearby islands. Great bathroom. Excellent kitchen facilities. HD TV with freeview and free WiFi. Nice welcome hamper. Beautiful location with nice walks down the coast.

Negatives: could hear quite a lot of noise from room above, particularly foot steps, which when magnified through the ceiling make a horrible thumping sound. Gave me a headache and prevented me from sleeping well. Could also hear the washing machine on spin. The 3 large windows in the flat, whilst offering a super view, did not seal properly so you could feel and hear the wind blowing through them. Floor had not been hoovered very well. There was a gritty substance (mud or sand) I kept treading on.

Room Tip: Do not get a ground floor accomodation
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nickadkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, Manager at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our site in John O'Groats following your recent visit. We are always looking for ways to improve both our product and service and have taken on-board your comments. If you would like to discuss this further or require any further information on Natural Retreats then please feel free to contact me @ info@naturalretreats.com.

Kind regards,

Joe Benson
Holiday Sales and Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

People are right when they say John O'Groats is a strange little place without a lot to it - it is - but the views are great, you can go for lovely walks along the shore and to Orkney, and the Natural Retreats development is very nicely done. We stayed in one of the cabins for a week - massive windows looking out to sea, very cosy with the log burner and stylish in a modern way. A fantastic place to come back to after a blustery walk.

The staff are nice and helpful (although very young) and the on site cafe is very nice (although not cheap). But you need to be prepared to cook for yourself because it's not open past 5pm and the eating options in the area are very limited. We went to the big Tesco at Wick which is right next to the airport, which is new and very good. The shop in John O'Groats is small and basic.

We went the week before Easter and it was pretty quiet. I imagine that in the summer there are coach parties arriving during the day which would spoil it a bit, especially if you are staying in the main building. But in the evenings I imagine it would still be very quiet, and the cabins are set back a bit from the touristy bit.

They make a point of offering wifi, Apple TV, games consoles, etc. in the cabins but the wifi (and hence Apple TV) didn't work in our cabin for our entire stay. They gave us the password for the wifi in the cafe but obviously that's nowhere near as good as having it in your own place. So that was rather frustrating, they didn't seem in control of fixing it, it seemed to be an external issue.

Go to Dunnet Bay which is a huge beautiful beach, with Dunnet Forest behind it which is nice for walks especially on a windy/wet day when it is quite sheltered. We did a day trip to Orkney which we loved - took car from Scrabster but you can also do that from the nearer Gill's Bay or go as a foot passenger in the summer from John O'Groats. The advantage of taking the car is that we could drive around and see a lot. The main Orkney island is surprisingly big and interesting and pretty, with lots of different elements and views.

Room Tip: The apartments in the main building (the old hotel) are right on the coast so have good views but yo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoldhurstGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that we can welcome you back to another of our locations soon. Unfortunately as you mention we have had some issues with the Wi-Fi which were beyond our control, we are in the process of switching providers in order to resolve this problem. Please do contact out concierge team for the best rates a returning guest. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had just completed Lands End to John o Groats by bike and were lucky enough to find David from the Inn at John o Groats, part of Natural Retreats and booked accommodation in one of the new tofts with panoramic views overlooking Pentland Firth to the Orkney Islands. This relatively new, unique and stunning development offers luxurious, well appointed rooms and the perfect end to our cycling trip. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UllswaterUllswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that we can welcome you back to another of our locations soon. Please do contact out concierge team for the best rates a returning guest. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived at cabin 16 for a 7 night stay 12/04/2014 accommodation first class with everything you would require for a self catering break ! Stunning location with views over the Pentland Firth and when the weather was clear you could easily see Orkney and other surrounding islands. Dunnet Head and the Stax of Duncansby are a must see and take your camera, fabulous.
Now the downside the kitchen tap was in dire need of repair as it had appeared to have lost contact with the sink and quite dangerous (especially when using the piping hot water) also the roofing on all the cabins is beginning to blow away with the constant prevailing wind that seems to gust on this part of the coastline although this did not effect our stay. My biggest complaint was I felt I had been ripped off I booked this accommodation in January 2014 at a cost of £901 imagine how I felt when I discovered I could have booked the same cabin for the same break on the 7/04/2014 for almost £300 less than what I was charged !!! (book early to save disappointment HA HA HA) Fortunately this did not take away from the break and I would recommend a holiday at this location to anyone, just beware of the pricing.

Room Tip: Any sea view cabin will be fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you liked the lodges and that you had such a great time in this beautiful part of the country. Please be assured that we are working on a resolution to the problem with the roofing. We were very disappointed that the harsh winds meant that the seeding we planted did not have time to take hold before the winter started to set in. We have also ensured that the maintenance issue with the tap has been rectified and we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry that you felt ripped off in regards to the price change. This was certainly not our intention. Any offers promoted are designed as best business practice to sell any remaining residences available across the portfolio. Whilst I appreciate that it can be frustrating to see a product offered at a cheaper rate after it has been confirmed with a deposit, by booking early you are able to guarantee your availability and choice of lodge. Please feel free to contact me at info@naturalretreats.com if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Arrived in John O groats without booking accommodation. Walked into main hotel all ultra modern with no receptionist. Eventually found a member of staff who could find someone who had to phone some central reservation to find out if there was a double room for us. After about half an hour we managed to book in and were shown to our room by a friendly young man The room was very spacious and ultra modern with large bed with two side tables and an open wardrobe area and a coffee machine. Beautiful view but no chairs to sit at window to admire view; no luggage holders; no instructions for coffee machine; no milk for coffee; ultra modern bathroom with no place to hang towel near shower area;a shower screen not big enough so water cascaded onto floor when showering; no info in room as to where you could eat in the evening ; wifi did not connect
Young man had given us a mobile phone no to contact him with any problems-- didn't tell us there is no phone signal in the hotel. Had to go outside car park to get signal. He arrived very quickly with milk and gave us other access to wifi so sorted our problems very efficiently and with
good humour
The room had been designed for show rather than comfort though the bed was comfortable
Would happily stay there again but would bring a couple of chairs !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, Manager at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post of review following your recent stay at John O'Groats Natural Retreats. We are always striving to improve our service and product so we are grateful that you were able to feedback following your stay.

As we are a self catering operation as opposed to a hotel we do not man the reception area 24/7, opting to offer a free phone service in the reception in order to contact one of our Retreat Managers.

I was pleased to read that you had thought the room was spacious and modern and have fed-back your comments to our operations department regarding the improvements that could be made.

If you would like to discuss this further or require any further information on Natural Retreats then please feel free to contact me @ info@naturalretreats.com.
Kind regards,

Joe Benson
Holiday Sales and Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

On our tour of Scotland, several people questioned why we'd bother to go to John O'Groats. "There's nothing there!" one local protested. Clearly, they hadn't heard that Natural Retreats had renovated the old hotel in John O'Groats.
We stayed in one of the 3-bedroom cabins for 3 nights - way more space than we needed for just the two of us, but just the private, intimate getaway we were hoping for. And the view was spectacular - if you have an option, go for cabin 22 or 23, as they have the most lovely ocean views. The cabins have all the mod cons, and you're greeted with a lovely welcome basket - in our case, filled with gluten-free options, a wonderful accommodation to our needs.
Here's the downside - when we got our "arrival information" email from Natural Retreats, we were invited to respond with our guest numbers and arrival time, as well as any other special requests. We promptly emailed back with a few requests, particularly for our arrival day when we'd be arriving late after a long day of driving. Unfortunately, none of those requests seemed to have reached the right ears - I'm certain that if our personal concierge, Janette, had received our email, we'd have gotten everything we needed. Janette went above and beyond during our stay, helping us have a wonderful, full experience even in the off season. Hooray, Janette! But BOOO Natural Retreats for dropping the ball.
At the John O'Groats lodging, they clearly still have some kinks to work out - the roofs of the cabins were shedding their insulation in the face of high winds during our stay, and some of the furnishings in the cabin walls were coming loose. But these are relatively minor things, and they certainly didn't interfere with our enjoyment of our lodgings. We had a wonderful time, and hope to visit again!

Room Tip: If you're choosing a 3-bedroom cabin, numbers 22 and 23 have the best sea views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please do always contact your concierge for any requests, we have a team on hand and dedicated to ensuring that these requests are met whenever possible. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
5.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
269 reviews
10.0 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
41 reviews
13.9 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
452 reviews
21.5 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats John O'Groats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats John O'Groats

Address: John o'Groats, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in John O'Groats
Price Range: $118 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Retreats John O'Groats is located in one of the most beautifully diverse landscapes in Britain, combining awe-inspiring costal stacks with dramatic clefts bitten deeply into the cliffs, community managed forest with white sandy beaches and Orca & Minkie Whale watching alongside the largest population of Harbour and Grey seals in the UK. Blessed with such natural beauty, there are an immense and varied range of activities you can take advantage of while on holiday in the Highlands. There's an abundance of natural and historical points of interest just a short walk away from the Retreat, including the famous coastal walk from John O'Groats to Dunnet Head, the true most northerly point, plus miles and miles of exhilarating walks across the diverse terrain offered in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Natural Retreats John O'Groats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats John O'Groats Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing