We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break and accomadation.....but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived at cabin 16 for a 7 night stay 12/04/2014 accommodation first class with everything you would require for a self catering break ! Stunning location with views over the Pentland Firth and when the weather was clear you could easily see Orkney and other surrounding islands. Dunnet Head and the Stax of Duncansby are a must see and take your camera, fabulous.
Now the downside the kitchen tap was in dire need of repair as it had appeared to have lost contact with the sink and quite dangerous (especially when using the piping hot water) also the roofing on all the cabins is beginning to blow away with the constant prevailing wind that seems to gust on this part of the coastline although this did not effect our stay. My biggest complaint was I felt I had been ripped off I booked this accommodation in January 2014 at a cost of £901 imagine how I felt when I discovered I could have booked the same cabin for the same break on the 7/04/2014 for almost £300 less than what I was charged !!! (book early to save disappointment HA HA HA) Fortunately this did not take away from the break and I would recommend a holiday at this location to anyone, just beware of the pricing.

Room Tip: Any sea view cabin will be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you liked the lodges and that you had such a great time in this beautiful part of the country. Please be assured that we are working on a resolution to the problem with the roofing. We were very disappointed that the harsh winds meant that the seeding we planted did not have time to take hold before the winter started to set in. We have also ensured that the maintenance issue with the tap has been rectified and we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry that you felt ripped off in regards to the price change. This was certainly not our intention. Any offers promoted are designed as best business practice to sell any remaining residences available across the portfolio. Whilst I appreciate that it can be frustrating to see a product offered at a cheaper rate after it has been confirmed with a deposit, by booking early you are able to guarantee your availability and choice of lodge. Please feel free to contact me at info@naturalretreats.com if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 582 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Arrived in John O groats without booking accommodation. Walked into main hotel all ultra modern with no receptionist. Eventually found a member of staff who could find someone who had to phone some central reservation to find out if there was a double room for us. After about half an hour we managed to book in and were shown to our room by a friendly young man The room was very spacious and ultra modern with large bed with two side tables and an open wardrobe area and a coffee machine. Beautiful view but no chairs to sit at window to admire view; no luggage holders; no instructions for coffee machine; no milk for coffee; ultra modern bathroom with no place to hang towel near shower area;a shower screen not big enough so water cascaded onto floor when showering; no info in room as to where you could eat in the evening ; wifi did not connect
Young man had given us a mobile phone no to contact him with any problems-- didn't tell us there is no phone signal in the hotel. Had to go outside car park to get signal. He arrived very quickly with milk and gave us other access to wifi so sorted our problems very efficiently and with
good humour
The room had been designed for show rather than comfort though the bed was comfortable
Would happily stay there again but would bring a couple of chairs !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, Manager at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post of review following your recent stay at John O'Groats Natural Retreats. We are always striving to improve our service and product so we are grateful that you were able to feedback following your stay.

As we are a self catering operation as opposed to a hotel we do not man the reception area 24/7, opting to offer a free phone service in the reception in order to contact one of our Retreat Managers.

I was pleased to read that you had thought the room was spacious and modern and have fed-back your comments to our operations department regarding the improvements that could be made.

If you would like to discuss this further or require any further information on Natural Retreats then please feel free to contact me @ info@naturalretreats.com.
Kind regards,

Joe Benson
Holiday Sales and Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

On our tour of Scotland, several people questioned why we'd bother to go to John O'Groats. "There's nothing there!" one local protested. Clearly, they hadn't heard that Natural Retreats had renovated the old hotel in John O'Groats.
We stayed in one of the 3-bedroom cabins for 3 nights - way more space than we needed for just the two of us, but just the private, intimate getaway we were hoping for. And the view was spectacular - if you have an option, go for cabin 22 or 23, as they have the most lovely ocean views. The cabins have all the mod cons, and you're greeted with a lovely welcome basket - in our case, filled with gluten-free options, a wonderful accommodation to our needs.
Here's the downside - when we got our "arrival information" email from Natural Retreats, we were invited to respond with our guest numbers and arrival time, as well as any other special requests. We promptly emailed back with a few requests, particularly for our arrival day when we'd be arriving late after a long day of driving. Unfortunately, none of those requests seemed to have reached the right ears - I'm certain that if our personal concierge, Janette, had received our email, we'd have gotten everything we needed. Janette went above and beyond during our stay, helping us have a wonderful, full experience even in the off season. Hooray, Janette! But BOOO Natural Retreats for dropping the ball.
At the John O'Groats lodging, they clearly still have some kinks to work out - the roofs of the cabins were shedding their insulation in the face of high winds during our stay, and some of the furnishings in the cabin walls were coming loose. But these are relatively minor things, and they certainly didn't interfere with our enjoyment of our lodgings. We had a wonderful time, and hope to visit again!

Room Tip: If you're choosing a 3-bedroom cabin, numbers 22 and 23 have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please do always contact your concierge for any requests, we have a team on hand and dedicated to ensuring that these requests are met whenever possible. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I cannot reccomend this hotel highly enough. We have recently return from staying few nights at the Inn and I would have been happy to stay there for a few months. John O'Groats a somewhat of a bad reputation of being a quick tourist stop off and nothing much else - but take time to stay and get to know the place and I can assure you, you will be rewarded in spades!

Everything about the Inn screams luxury - as soon as you see the brightly coloured tofts driving over the hill to the moment you walk through the door. We stayed in a studio apartment in the Sand Toft. There were more luxuries that we have had a five start city hotels. Dedicated WiFi / Apple TV / PS3 BlueRay player and the most stunning views over to the Orkney Islands. The Inn is so quiet and peaceful - I was convinced we were the only people staying, only to be told that one part of the hotel was fully booked. We had a lovely welcome hamper with wine, cheese, bread etc and the bathrooms are well stocked with supplies.

Everything is very new and there is still a lot of the landscaping that is obviously a work in progress. We stayed out of season so a lot of the amenities and trips hadn't started yet - but somehow I think I prefered that reather than being rushed about to do lots of activites. Everyone was more than helpful and made us feel very welcome.

This is a place to strap on your boots and get out and about, you can walk for miles in any direction - and expereince the most peaceful stunning landscape you will ever see.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsRufian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The lodges are very comfortable, Eco friendly, modern and all with a fantastic view. We went as a family to get away from it all for a couple of days and recharge the batteries. This was done in luxury with all mod cons available to hand. The storehouse next to the lodges was well stocked for any meals you wished to have cooked for you. Definitely booking a return in the future.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Jimwiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Natural Retreats at The Inn John O Groats is outstanding in every way. the complete transformation of the original Inn and additional buildings is beautiful and the Eco luxury 3 bedroomed cabins are outstanding. The minute you arrive on site a warm and luxurious welcome awaits. Our cabin was immaculate and the attention to detail and luxury outstanding with a wonderful obliging helpful and kind assistant manager David who showed us everything and welcomed us with a welcome hamper with beautiful local produce, eggs, milk, bread, oat biscuits, butter, cheese, jam, chutney, wine (although we chose water) and I am sure something else that I have forgotten, anyway you get the picture extremely well looked after!!! Our cabin no.20 was like a luxury detached bungalow with so many beautiful features, no expense spared, utility room all fitted out with everything, amazing living room dinning kitchen combined with wood burning stove, luxury fittings throughout including flat screen large tv blue ray DVD, PS3, books, board game, luxury main bathroom, en suite luxury to main bedroom and both additional bedrooms lovely too!!!! Everything about these cabins and all the other accommodation here is to the highest standard and the views are spectacular. I would simply say what are you waiting for if you want the best this is the place to go.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Murrays999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What an amazing place to spend a few days or a week and a base to explore Northern Scotland. The cabins are amazing with all the mod cons including Apple TV, playstation, excellent kitchen set up, washing machine etc. I could go on and on. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautiful and the fixtures and fittings of a high quality. We used the spa facilities as an indulgence and would definitely go again. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The cabins are amazing. Real home from home with all the families and amenities you need. Upgrade th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FargoReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
14 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
468 reviews
10 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hamnavoe B&B
Hamnavoe B&B
#2 of 6 in John O'Groats
58 reviews
0 mi away
Bencorragh House
Bencorragh House
#6 of 6 in John O'Groats
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats John O'Groats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats John O'Groats

Address: John o'Groats, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in John O'Groats
Price Range: $114 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Retreats John O'Groats is located in one of the most beautifully diverse landscapes in Britain, combining awe-inspiring costal stacks with dramatic clefts bitten deeply into the cliffs, community managed forest with white sandy beaches and Orca & Minkie Whale watching alongside the largest population of Harbour and Grey seals in the UK. Blessed with such natural beauty, there are an immense and varied range of activities you can take advantage of while on holiday in the Highlands. There's an abundance of natural and historical points of interest just a short walk away from the Retreat, including the famous coastal walk from John O'Groats to Dunnet Head, the true most northerly point, plus miles and miles of exhilarating walks across the diverse terrain offered in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Natural Retreats John O'Groats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats John O'Groats Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing