We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The lodges are very comfortable, Eco friendly, modern and all with a fantastic view. We went as a family to get away from it all for a couple of days and recharge the batteries. This was done in luxury with all mod cons available to hand. The storehouse next to the lodges was well stocked for any meals you wished to have cooked for you. Definitely booking a return in the future.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Jimwiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 575 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Natural Retreats at The Inn John O Groats is outstanding in every way. the complete transformation of the original Inn and additional buildings is beautiful and the Eco luxury 3 bedroomed cabins are outstanding. The minute you arrive on site a warm and luxurious welcome awaits. Our cabin was immaculate and the attention to detail and luxury outstanding with a wonderful obliging helpful and kind assistant manager David who showed us everything and welcomed us with a welcome hamper with beautiful local produce, eggs, milk, bread, oat biscuits, butter, cheese, jam, chutney, wine (although we chose water) and I am sure something else that I have forgotten, anyway you get the picture extremely well looked after!!! Our cabin no.20 was like a luxury detached bungalow with so many beautiful features, no expense spared, utility room all fitted out with everything, amazing living room dinning kitchen combined with wood burning stove, luxury fittings throughout including flat screen large tv blue ray DVD, PS3, books, board game, luxury main bathroom, en suite luxury to main bedroom and both additional bedrooms lovely too!!!! Everything about these cabins and all the other accommodation here is to the highest standard and the views are spectacular. I would simply say what are you waiting for if you want the best this is the place to go.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Murrays999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What an amazing place to spend a few days or a week and a base to explore Northern Scotland. The cabins are amazing with all the mod cons including Apple TV, playstation, excellent kitchen set up, washing machine etc. I could go on and on. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautiful and the fixtures and fittings of a high quality. We used the spa facilities as an indulgence and would definitely go again. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The cabins are amazing. Real home from home with all the families and amenities you need. Upgrade th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FargoReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weekend away - everything exceeded our expectations and was awesome !! We stayed in the Portgordon studio which was small but ideal for a couple. The views were stunning and the accommodation was all new, very clean and modern. Not a lot happening out of season in this location but we braved the weather and did some fantastic coastal walks right from the doorstep. Lovely welcome hamper added the extra special touch and was very good.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Roy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRetreats, concierge team leader at Natural Retreats John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have many different Natural Retreats locations and we hope to see you at another of them soon. Please do contact our team for the best rates. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A long journey from London to John O'Groats was rewarded by a nice and warm lodge on arrival. Facilities excellent and very comfortable. Everything was pretty much new and looked like it hadn't been used. A welcome hamper provided the basics, plus a few other goodies - a nice touch. Bedside tables in the main bedroom were a bit feeble, and fell over very easily, luckily nothing was broken, and the coffee table looked very nice, but watch out for splinters. No ironing board, but one was provided later, though too late. More instructions on the mod cons needed - tv difficult to work, as was Appletv. No iPod docking station as advertised.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at natural retreats back in October last year. Arrived on the Friday night all wet and miserable at the lodge outside, entered inside to find a large modern well equipped cosy accommodation, with all mod cons. Unpacked all our things for weekend and settled in to explored the accommodation facilities, investigated log burner, Apple TV. Opened our free welcome hamper, nice touch, and settled down to a relaxing evening in great surroundings with trendy sofa furniture to chill out on!

Awoke to a beautiful sunny Caithness morning, with stunning sea views.
Spent weekend exploring all local facilities and checking out local sights. Had a meet and greet with Jeanette, who was most welcoming and super helpful in explaining the lay of the land to us.
Day trip to Orkney on Sunday which was amazing, went to Skara brae, explored Kirkwall, fascinating island.

Whole family enjoyed whole weekend at Jog, smart cafe & shops a great place for a weekend chill out!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank 2manyreveiwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to spend our New Year at Natural Retreats. We had an 8 night stay in a 3 Bedroom Residence and it was a truly perfect stay. The Lodges are stunning, modern, warm and welcoming, we booked a seaview and the views were stunning! Other than long walks with our son and dog (the beaches are incredible) and a meal at the Seaview Hotel (delicious and a 5 minute walk and also takes dogs), we actually did very little apart from relax and spend a wonderful relaxing week as a family. We did however book for the New Years Celebration, which was great fun and so nice to meet some of the locals. If you're looking for a holiday with stunning scenery where you can really relax as a family, then I would say Natural Retreats should tick all the boxes and Jeanette and her team are a real credit to the resort, perfectly combining true warmth and professionalism. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
14 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
466 reviews
10 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
57 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
314 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hamnavoe B&B
Hamnavoe B&B
#2 of 6 in John O'Groats
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats John O'Groats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats John O'Groats

Address: John o'Groats, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in John O'Groats
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Retreats John O'Groats is located in one of the most beautifully diverse landscapes in Britain, combining awe-inspiring costal stacks with dramatic clefts bitten deeply into the cliffs, community managed forest with white sandy beaches and Orca & Minkie Whale watching alongside the largest population of Harbour and Grey seals in the UK. Blessed with such natural beauty, there are an immense and varied range of activities you can take advantage of while on holiday in the Highlands. There's an abundance of natural and historical points of interest just a short walk away from the Retreat, including the famous coastal walk from John O'Groats to Dunnet Head, the true most northerly point, plus miles and miles of exhilarating walks across the diverse terrain offered in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Natural Retreats John O'Groats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats John O'Groats Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing