We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

As a young(Ish) family with two boys aged 4 and 1 juggling full time work whilst running our house can be very difficult as well as rewarding. It's important for us to make sure when we choose a holiday it suits us all as a family, giving us quality time together.

Having already visited the Yorkshire Dales our expectations were high. Boy, did you deliver. After an arduous drive from Lancashire we were stunned by the location of the cabins. The welcome basket full of local produce and a stocked fridge covers all bases so we could relax straight away. I front of the roaring log burning fire.

Our cabin was immaculate, beautiful, loaded with high tech goodies that our 4 year old enjoyed using. As it was quiet concierge lent us several games for the playstation which was a really great gesture.

The concierge was fantastic. Lovely warm people who couldn't do enough for us. Intact the moment we got in touch with Ruth the service was unparalleled- exceptional.

As I said our family holidays mean so much too us. Spending that time at natural retreats adds to that. Giving us a relaxed platform to enjoy each others and natures company.

I can't speak highly enough of what you are doing. It's been a pleasure to have had the privilege to experience such luxury on the back drop of some of the most awe inspiring scenery we have ever seen. Negatives... non from us! Stuff of dreams!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    82
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
164
164
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Only stayed for one night after a fairly arduous journey in the dark, with snow and ice, from Inverness; however when we saw the astonishing view from our unbelievably well appointed residence in the morning. . . it was all worthwhile!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All residences have excellent facilities and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very high standard and finish to the lodges, quality fittings and beautiful furniture (hand made using local materials). Staff could not have been more helpful. Local beaches, lighthouses and walks wonderful. Make sure you try the Natural Retreats boat rides - cold but worth it! They are even dog friendly - and our dogs loved the wodd-burning stoves!

Room Tip: Lodge 21 (our one) had the bext view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnieSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We toured the North East of Scotland during the October school break, stumbling on this accommodation in John O'Groats. This part of the country is surprisingly under-developed, and the set of lodges (all with sea views) was a revelation. Extremely well appointed, including a wood burning stove (with logs incl.), high end Apple TV & PS3 player, and a great kitchen if you opt for self catering. As hikes are part & parcel of this area of Scotland, we particularly appreciated the entrance hallway being generous enough to accommodate the vast arrays of jackets, wellies & walking boots. Washing machine & dryer included, and dogs allowed on premises. We will return at the first opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploration2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a fantastic week here. The property was well appointed, with great views. The surrounding countryside is great for walking, cycling etc. Colette was friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area, and the welcome hamper was delightful. The added bonus for us was to witness the northern lights (after a tip off from Colette, thank you!).

Room Tip: We stayed in Lodge 18 - great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frameworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After a long drive from Glasgow we were relieved to arrive at the Natural Retreats lodges at the start of a long week-end. We were all stunned and silenced when shown our accomodation and perfect view and suddenly the journey seemed worth it. The standard of this accomodation is first class, the kitchen had everything you could need, and all equipment was very high quality. The open plan style was very sociable with large dining table and comfortable sofas surrounded by a wonderful uninterrupted view out to sea. The lodges were warm and cosy with endless supply of hot water, we turned heating down just so we could use the wood burning stove in the evening and with the lights out we could look out and spot stars and lighthouses.
The television, play station and DVD player were well used as was the game of monopoly which was in the lodge.
The beds and bedding were comfortable and sumptious and of the same high quality was evident throughout the lodge we all enjoyed a great sleep.
I would highly recommend these lodges for couples, families and groups. It's worth the journey for the welcome hamper, log stove and magnificent view.

Room Tip: Lodge 16 felt very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at the lovely Natural Retreats at John OGroats at the end of our Lands End John OGroats eight day cycle challenge. Perfect location and place to rest after endurance cycle challenge. The lovely eco lodges sleep six and can be booked for a night at the moment. Collette and her team made us very welcome and we would thoroughly recommend the place to cyclists finishing LEJOG up there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
5.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
21.5 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
13.9 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats John O'Groats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats John O'Groats

Property: Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Address: John o'Groats, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in John O'Groats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Retreats John O'Groats is located in one of the most beautifully diverse landscapes in Britain, combining awe-inspiring costal stacks with dramatic clefts bitten deeply into the cliffs, community managed forest with white sandy beaches and Orca & Minkie Whale watching alongside the largest population of Harbour and Grey seals in the UK. Blessed with such natural beauty, there are an immense and varied range of activities you can take advantage of while on holiday in the Highlands. There's an abundance of natural and historical points of interest just a short walk away from the Retreat, including the famous coastal walk from John O'Groats to Dunnet Head, the true most northerly point, plus miles and miles of exhilarating walks across the diverse terrain offered in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Natural Retreats John O'Groats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats John O'Groats Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing