We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We visited friends in Keiss and visited John O'Groats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of John O'Groats Ferries

John O'Groats Ferries
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.75*
and up
Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Summer passenger ferry from John O'Groats to Orkney Islands every day starting 1 May to 30 September each year. Up to 3 departures daily. Day Tours of Orkney Islands daily from John O'Groats & Inverness during summer months. Wildlife Cruises daily from John O'Groats at 2.30pm. Wildlife Cruises start 20 June until 31 Aug.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We visited friends in Keiss and visited John O'Groats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

a good selection of gift shops, large free car parks, Not much else to do, Dunnet head the most northerly place in the UK is only a short drive away.Great sea views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mick_shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    38
    13
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Armagh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“John O'Groats Ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was an easy ferry to go on. Nice big car park a short walk from the harbour, opportunity to buy tickets within the car park and comfortable seqats on board. Relatively short crossing for those who don't have great sea legs. At the other side the bus was waiting; most of us were going on the shorter of the two island tours but the bus was available to anyone who wanted to sail across and travel to Kirkwall. The driver was an Orkney man who could describe what we were seeing, not because he had learned it off to get the job, but because he knew.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strichen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“John O Groats Ferries - Maxi day tour Orkney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a fantastic day trip to Orkney. Found them advertised in Visit Scotland guide went online and booked online. Good value for money - only downside was it was a long day but what a great day we had. We had concerns as there was lots of people came onboard about 5 coach loads as it turned out, but it was fine. We had Stuart as our bus tour guide - he was brilliant and we have contacted Maynes of Buckie to commend his service, in fact he won tour guide of the year this year! A great way to see round Orkney and learn about its history along with the funny stories from Stuart. We paid for our entrance into Skarra Brae before boarding the ferry at John O Groats. Very well organised tour. One of the best trips we have ever done. If we had to be negative it would be that you don't have loads of time for a relaxing meal, we took sandwiches with us for lunch and after a bit of searching we finally found somewhere to eat for supper, definitely advisable to have a decent meal at some point in your trip as you not back onshore until about 8pm if I remember correctly. The ferry itself looked a bit shabby and had quite a few scrapes on the outside but apart from that - we would recommend this trip as a great way to see to Orkney.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Just Superlative !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A glorious adventure to wonderful locations.

Echo all the other positive comments (especially re Stuart the driver / guide).

Cannot recommend highly enough: many thanks all !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Day trip to Orkney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fabulous day! Ferry left bang on time, very smooth crossing to Orkney. Our bus driver/tour guide, Stuart was a hoot, really knowledgable about Orkney and made the day a lot of fun. Was a wee bit tired by the time the free-time in Kirkwall came about, but it was lovely to see everything we did and hope to return for a longer visit next time. Ferry journey home was great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui_from_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John O'Groats Ferries also viewed

John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to John O'Groats Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing