We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brilliant Tour of Orkney”

Maxi Day Tour of Orkney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Falkirk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Tour of Orkney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were over the moon to learn that we could take our dogs on this tour of Orkney since it would have been a real shame to have missed out especially visiting Skara Brae and viewing the remains of the fleet in Scapa Flow. The coach driver was very well informed, polite and friendly and the bus was spotlessly clean. All in all, an excellent day out and well worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OwnerBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    36
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Super day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you have taken the trouble to get all the way to John O'Groats then don't miss out on this excellent day tour of Orkney. A fantastic trip around a very interesting part of the country was made for us by our tour guide/driver, Stuart, who combined great personal knowledge of the island with a good sense of humour. Highlight for us was the visit to Skara Brae, the stone age settlement which is quite incredible and like nothing seen before on the mainland. There is an extra cost for this attraction but don't miss out on it for the sake of £7.50 a head.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Orkney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful day on this tour in late September. The Maxi day tours finish at the end of September so we were pleased we made the trip. We saw so much in just one day, the weather was wonderful and the coach driver Stuart obviously enjoyed his job very much and put so much into making sure that everyone had a good experience. Both of the crossings were fine, and very exciting. The lovely coloured houses of John O'Groats slowly disappearing into the distance gave way to the amazing appearance of the islands all around us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1judyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic day tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I believe the guide/driver was Stuart? He was the funniest and most informative tour guide ever! Such a gentle voice and well-thought out tour with so many extras to make it interesting and cultural. All the stops were phenomenal and enough time was given to enjoy all save one - the stone circles. I believe it's because there's no restroom or tourist center there, and some people can't or don't want to do the hike up and back in just 1/2 hour and it's at the very end pretty much. But for me, it was the main attraction of going on this tour.
For an active person in this magical area for the first time, this tour is perfect to get an overall view of the Orkneys for the purpose of planning ahead to the next trip, where you want to spend more time on the details.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robinizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Good Way to see as much as possible of Orkney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just loved crossing The Pentland Firth. It looks so menacing with it's many whirlpools, where two oceans meet. We passed an island that was covered in ruined cottages, and we're fortunate to spot two skuas, as well as numerous fulmars and seals.

The weather was sublime and the coach journey is incredibly well organised, with numerous stops, each one for just the right length of time. The driver's commentary was insightful and amusing. Plenty of choice for eating and coffee places en route, and the chosen destinations were all varied and interesting.

The Italian Chapel is amazing, and St Magnus Cathedral, both beautiful and moving. We returned to the mainland with a real feeling for life, past and present on these wonderful islands.

The cost is reasonable too for a day packed full of interest and history. Thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeagullFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxi Day Tour of Orkney also viewed

John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Maxi Day Tour of Orkney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing