We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing wildlife experience”
Review of Aigas Field Centre

Aigas Field Centre
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Beauly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please avoid the disappointment of being turned away. Aigas Field Centre is a residential business and not open to passing visitors. Prior booking is always required. The internationally acclaimed and award-winning field centre for the Highlands and Islands of Scotland; Aigas is a Highland estate and family home offering unsurpassed hospitality, educational holidays and wildlife experiences to residential visitors from all over the world.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing wildlife experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Sir John and Lady Lucy welcomed us to their home and we had a wonderful 5 days, staying in a comfortable, warm cabin the the estate grounds. We got on well with the other guests and had some fun. The wildlife hides were comfy and we had our first sighting of pine martens. Unfortunately the beavers and otters didn't show themselves, but that's wildlife. We did see golden eagles, buzzards, dolphins, and a highlight was the lekking black grouse. The staff and rangers are all very friendly and knowledgeable which adds to the experience. Love to go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scherpenzeel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wildlife highlights with Nick Baker, an amazing week”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This was my 4th stay at Aigas. The garden still looked stunning,Lady Lucy must spend loads of time here. My favourite place is the little bench overlooking the pond. This time I had booked a week with Nick Baker. It proved to be an excellent choice, Nick is very enthusiastic, offers a different look on wildlife and is very, very knowledgable. We did some tracking which was very exciting, visited a badger sett and even did some rock pooling. Amazing what you can find and what he can tell you about all the different species! His knowledge about bugs really added to the programme. My favourite bit is always the hide visits, this time I managed to get pine martens on 6 out of 7 nights which was amazing. I watched the sunrise from the loch every morning, heard the owls and buzzards calling, saw the bats go into their roosting place, there is so much this place offers. My lodge was very comfortable, the weather very unlike Scotland, we had 4 dry, warm days! Add the excellent food, the staff, the rangers and the guests and I can really say I had the perfect holiday. And the best part of it? I left knowing I had already booked another week for 2014.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A full, friendly & fulfilling week”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

On arrival at Aigas we realised that many of our fellow guests were there for repeat visits. After our week it was easy to see why .
The accommodation was functional and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly ,knowledgeable and enthusiastic .The food was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fellsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AigasFieldCentre, General Manager at Aigas Field Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. We sincerely hope that you will soon be one of those returning guests!

With kind regards,
Warwick Lister-Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colyton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Photography masterclass with Laurie Campbell”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A week at Aigas is a magical time for those interested in wildlife, especially if you're a keen photographer. Where else can you see and photograph pine martens, red deer, dolphins, seals, migrating geese and salmon, fungi and wildcat in the space of a week? A big thank you to workshop leader Laurie Campbell whose knowledge, patience and skill knows no bounds. Nothing was too much trouble for him to ensure that everybody got the maximum out of our week in the highlands. He was ably supported by the brilliant team of enthusiastic rangers at Aigas HQ, along with hosts Sir John, Lady Lucy and Warwick. I have already booked my return visit in 2014.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Great week at Aigas”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

For the third year running I have enjoyed a great week at Aigas - this time with a friends group. The staff went out of their way to give us a really enjoyable week. The Pine Martens were rather shy but we had very good sightings of Eagles, other raptors, Red Deer, Seals and Dolphins, Aigas's own Scottish Wildcats as well as a host of birds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AigasFieldCentre, General Manager at Aigas Field Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Charles, thank you once again for your very kind review. We also enjoy welcoming you and your friends here and are very grateful for the photobooks your have produced, which many other guests see and admire. We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes
Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aigas Field Centre also viewed

Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Aigas Field Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing