We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Eagle Brae”
Review of Eagle Brae

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beauly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Brae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent 6 nights in Loxia, one of the fantastic log cabins at Eagle Brae. The location of the cabins is perfect and combines real modern luxury with highland rustic charm. The cabin was extremely well furnished and offered beautiful views across the newt pond and onto the glen in the distance. Mike and Pawana are super welcoming hosts and the homemade food we had was lovely. We visited the nearby glens of Strathfarrar, Canich and, of course, Affric, all of which are really stunning.Eagle Brae will not remain a secret for long- we will certainly visit again. Thanks and good luck to Mike and Pawana!
Neil and Kathy

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neilpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 331 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

You're in Strathglass, Scotland's loveliest. And staying in a place that's probably the most eco-friendly in Scotland (without the owners banging on about it). It's a wonderful blend of Himalayan styling, Canadian luxury and Scottish hospitality - put all that lot together and you've got a dream destination.Stay for as long as you can - there's plenty to do. Go to Strathfarrar - or as we did - try your hand at fly fishing or kayaking. Hard, if not impossible, to fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David54186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Eagle Brae with our 9 month old son and I could not recommend it enough.
The log cabins provide the perfect combination of luxury and eco-friendliness, technology and character. The attention to detail is second to none. Combine this with incredible scenery and direct exposure to wildlife, it is a truly memorable experience.
Mike and Pawana are also great hosts and provide perfect service without being overbearing in any way.
I would suspect each season in Eagle Brae provides a different experience so after spending time in November, we'll aim for summer or spring for our next trip!

Room Tip: all outstanding in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our greatest regret was we only stayed for a weekend break at the beginning of October in Tringa cabin. Though what a fabulous time we had - the accommodation is truly perfect and we could not find fault. Mike and Pawana's attention to detail is to be applauded, they have thought of everything to ensure you have a perfect stay. We found them both and the rest of the Eagle Brae team such genial hosts. The concierge service is a bonus to an otherwise self catering set up and the meals are excellent. Waking up after an unbelievably great nights sleep to the views down to the river Glass was breathtaking. This is one place that can justifiably claim they are offering you a luxury stay. Even in a short space of time, we took part in many of the activities on offer. It was so worth the early morning start to go on the Black Grouse Safari and the dog sledding was unbelievably good fun. Excellent stay and the highlight of a two week tour round Scotland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wow! What a fabulous experience! The accommodation is comparable to the best hotels, but self-catering, full of character and in a beautiful rural highland setting. The hand carved decoration is absolutely unique, and indeed, there is great attention to detail throughout the cabin. The setting is great – deer roaming outside, trickling streams and rustling leaves. We tried some of the meals available to order. These were a real treat, giving a break from cooking on holiday, but still providing good wholesome food. The hosts are very friendly and can’t do enough to help make the stay a great experience. We’ve often just treated self-catering as a base for going out and about, but spending time in and around the accommodation was a pleasure. We also took advantage of nearby activities including the dog sled and a (gentle!) canoe trip down the river - the night time sled ride was an adrenaline rush for the kids, and the canoe trip a fantastic way to appreciate the scenery. Just the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is absolutely stunning. My company took the whole office team for a couple of days, very lucky I know, and we were all just amazed. I could not get over the amount of detail of the interior. the staff are so lovely as well, very warm and welcoming. anything we needed they were thereon point. they even have hand-made soap...It really is a place not to miss out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at Eagle Brae. I had previously visited to assess its' suitability for high end clients that our new company will host in the future. My initial visit confirmed that Eagle Brae was perfect for the 5* tours we will be laying on but my weekend stay took me to a whole new level. Accommodation standards, fittings, fixtures and equipment are superb as are your hosts, Mike and Pawana. They have literally thought of everything and more! The setting and surrounding countryside is magnificent.
The Scottish tourism industry, of which I am a part, has for too long had a misguided perception that it provides the best hospitality there is when, quite frankly, we do not. Eagle Brae has set the bench mark that the whole industry must now try and achieve. I cannot recommend this wonderful hideaway enough; it is truly 6*.

Room Tip: They are all outstanding!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
15.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#2 of 36 in Inverness
695 reviews
21.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
159 reviews
17.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
10.1 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Brae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Brae

Address: Strathglass, Beauly IV4 7LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Beauly
Price Range: $180 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in-between Glen Affric and Glen Strathfarrar, the finest remaining stands of pristine Caledonian pine-forest wilderness, Eagle Brae is a luxury self-catering log village resort powered by renewables. Genuine hand-crafted log cabins made from colossal cedar logs and topped with wild-flower green roofs. There are no machine cut logs and no two logs the same: every cabin is a unique handmade work of log art. The cabin interiors feature hand-carved decorative wood carvings from the Himalayas, custom made hardwood furniture and kitchens, hand woven tweed curtains and cotton rugs, and every modern appliance and amenity you could need, including a smart TV, dvd blueray, stereo and a pc and printer in every cabin. Eagle Brae exclusively offers its online concierge service where guests can order wines, prepared meals, meats and groceries delivered direct to their cabin: a unique new brand of 'catered' self-catering in spectacular log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Brae Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing