We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for hillwalking/mountain biking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tomich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomich Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Beauly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good base for hillwalking/mountain biking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our group of four 60s hillwalkers up for the weekend from central Scotland was very well looked after, the rooms were comfortable and agreeably large, the food was good the bar was well stocked. The residents' lounge was comfortable if somewhat dimly lit.
Dinner offered a surprisingly big choice given the limited capacity of the dining room and the hotel. The wine list was extensive, and included reasonably priced and agreeable house wines. Some residents preferred to eat in the bar.
Breakfast was also good, with a reasonable buffet choice.
Bike hire available literally across the road. Parking no problem.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    54
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
110
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Picked as a base for exploring Glen Affric. Did not disappoint - easy to find, friendly welcome and clean / comfortable well appointed rooms. Staff all friendly, chatty and eager to please. Great breakfasts to get us on our way ... and hearty bar meals to welcome us back, with a good whisky tasting menu for “afters”. Will definitely use again when next back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

We used the hotel as a base for walking in the Glen. Late meals and early breakfast was no trouble. Very comfortable rooms, very friendly and efficient staff, no problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Glen Affric is one of the most beautiful places in the British Isles. This hotel is one of the only ones located in the Glen. This makes it extremely secluded and only really suitable for hikers or those with a 4 wheel drive - not for those who want to stroll out for a meal or drinks at night. The bar is not really the cosy real ale pub we had anticipated. Meals are fine but no frills. With the right mode of transport a moonlit drive down the track towards Cougie is a thrill for wildlife spotters. Nearby Plodda Falls is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesskatycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

A party of 9, spent 3 nights here walking in the hills around Glen Affric and found the accommodation and food in the hotel to be excellent. We were particularly impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the management and staff who did everything in their gift to make our stay pleasurable. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

We spent three night here whilst exploring beautiful Glen Affric. The owners & staff made you feel really special with their individual care & attention to detail.,ie nice little touches like carrying your drinks through to the dining room from the bar & serving a cleansing sorbet between starter & main course. They were professioanl yet friendly at all times.

The food was absolutely delicious. There was a wide selection- even for veggies!

I would thoroughly reccomend the Tomich Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

A charming & welcoming hotel set in a beautiful rural scottish glen. Roaring log fires, good food and lovely staff. A great place to escape to... even if only for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather123Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
18.0 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
20.5 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
16.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
17.9 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomich Hotel

Property: Tomich Hotel
Address: Tomich | Near Cannich, Beauly IV4 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tomich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tomich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomich Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing