We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priory Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Highland Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
192
115
33
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
115
33
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaenjoyable staycakeslarge bathroomnice villagelarge portionscomfortable hotelblack islelovely roomfirst classinverness areacooked breakfastan evening mealstayed here for nightsmeringuewell worth a visitsalmon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 366 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Only enjoy submitting positive reviews, this is a positive review but not to overboard. I suppose the main issue is value for money, at almost £100 for a double, the room simply did not match many others at a lesser price. The room was a bit dated, however main complaint is the all to familiar black mould around the bath and shower area. (why do hotels not see this and do something about it-it can be cleaned and looks disgusting and is unhygienic) Carpets are also a bit dirty. Notwithstanding these issues the room was fairly big and had a very comfortable bed. Due to the noise and music from the bar, it is difficult to sleep before 13 00, but accept that this is part of village life and did not really bother us as we were in late anyway but may be an issue with others.Staff are as previous reviews lovely and helpful. Breakfast is in a nice dining room and is hot excellent and varied. Good location for Belladrum Glen Affric, Glenfarrar-all beautiful. Thursday evening is great with dancers pipers etc entertaining right outside the hotel, somehow managing while the car park and the great chip shop are fully functioning. All in all a good hotel which we enjoyed, just some minor cleaning and upgrading would justify the price, although regardless of price there should be no black mould in shower areas. Overall an enjoyable hotel in a good location, nothing is to much trouble for the staff which is the key asset for any hotel, would recommend, I understand that there is better deals available us understandably there were no saver deals etc during Belladrum and the local show.

Room Tip: Probably a room not above the public bar would be better
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your review - I am sorry all was not up yo our usual standard in your room, be assured these issues will be dealt with and we thank you for making the comments.

Regarding the tariff at certain times of the year we do offer deals on our accommodation, unfortunately this period is the busiest of the season so discounts were not available.

Overall you enjoyed your stay so hopefully we will see you back in the future and maybe I can offer you a special deal

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we arrived late, after travelling 12 hours from the SE England, the recptionist not only said she'd hav picked us up from the station had she known we weren't driving (and indeed, dropped us back there on our departure day at 7.15am), but also had a hot meal rustled up for us despite it being 'after-hours'. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean but was a twin, not the double we'd asked for. But we were switched to a double next day with no fuss, and that room was also excellent. We had a smaller, though perfectly adequate bathroom, but benfited from a balcony too. The hotel was good value though it's a shame there is no discount for staying 3 or 4 nights, and the food seemed very expensive, but then that was so throughout the region. All the staff were friendly and helpful and really seemed to care.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your review - your comments are much appreciated

We are happy you enjoyed the stay and hospitality.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were very pleased with it in every way. Our room was a reasonable size and well equipped. The staff were the most friendly and helpful that I have met for several years. There was a good choice of meals (high-tea, pizza, and evening dinner menu) and the quality, presentation, service, and price were most acceptable.

We travel between northern England and northern Scotland most years and usually break our journey with an overnight stop in Inverness. This time we wanted 2 nights so that we could take a trip on the railway to Kyle of Lochalsh (which is considered one of the most scenic routes in the UK). Rather than use the station in Inverness we thought it would be better (and it proved to be so) to catch the train in Beauly - no congestion getting to the station and FREE parking!

The hotel is in the centre of a small (and interesting) town not far off the main A9 north-south route and quite close to Inverness. Access is easy. We will certainly use this hotel again when we need to break our journey in the Inverness area.

The train journey from Beauly to Kyle is, indeed, well worth the effort. For the record, Beauly station has the shortest platform of any station in the UK and you must be at the correct door to disembark the train on your return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your positive review we are glad you enjoyed The Priory and your visit to Beauly.

Hopefully will see you back in the future

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I reviewed this last year under the title 'Dumped' because we failed to secure our normal booking. But I also explained the excellent service received at the family meal which we enjoyed in the evening. Well this year provided us with the best accommodation they have to offer and we thoroughly enjoyed the well-fitted, spacious, and comfortable bedrooms. Our usual post Highland-Cross family and friends meal took place yet again and the food, wine and service were excellent. This included Saturday early morning 6.00am breakfast for those of us taking part in the Highland Cross and boarding the race bus at 6.45am. Staff were wearing attractive uniforms and they could not have been more helpful. Fiona on the desk this year looked after us well. Coffees and drinks ere later enjoyed accompanied by one of the hotel fun games that had to do with spotting the spies and a hilarious time was had by all. Well done, to Blair, the hotel Manager.

Room Tip: Keep clear of roof top ventilators or heating sounds, at back of the building, but even if near those they are not too bad.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Hi Don

Glad everything was OK this year and we have booked for 2015.

Best Regards

Blair
Priory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I just wish to tell guests what room to avoid because if you have a problem during the nights there is no one on duty---I did phone a number & woke up a member of staff but she didn't offer to come down to the hotel --the room we had it is also in the roof area so it get VERY HOT & only one window opens .Bed linen could be updated though towels were ok. Owner was very polite next morning & would did not charge the full rate for the nights stay---

Room Tip: Avoid room 30 as there is a pillar in the bathroom that one can knock oneself on (god alone knows what is inside that pillar) but the bedroom pillar houses a vent that roars every 15 mins for about 1 min that is when a member of staff has not sorted out the on & OFF !!!switch --
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lesleya887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review

Really sorry all was not up to standard.
I will be looking into what happened when you phoned for assistance as there is someone on the premises at all times - seems odd.

Regarding the pillar in the bathroom - unfortunately it was an architectual error when building these new rooms - and we cannot get rid of it.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews