We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Certificate of Excellence
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I visit the Beauly area from time to time due to family connections and have always stayed at the Priory Hotel. Beauly is a lovely town, charming to look at and with good shops. The hotel has been constant over the years, providing comfortable modern rooms and a good situation. The food this time was both excellent and good value. The dining room was busy both nights which tells you everything you need to know.
Will I stay again? Of course I will.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front could be noisy at week ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterferguson546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully will see you back in the near future.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    94
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
131
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A warm welcome as we checked in and were shown to our rooms, clean comfortable and a great shower. Dining Room bustles and so do the staff, great food and good selection of dishes, breakfast is first class. Great coffee and beautiful orange yolked eggs.
My second visit and I'll be back again given the opportunity.

Scottishlandscapes

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper choose room at the back of the hotel. But the highland air and the good food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snappertorridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated
Hopefully will see you back at The Priory again

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The atmosphere at this hotel is so relaxed food and rooms are great and good value for money the motto seems to be whatever ......however .. whenever you want it we'll do it .. .we were passing through on the way to the Outer Hebrides but it is also a great base for exploring all that area .everyone is welcome... as well as hikers and bikers we counted eight or nine different nationalities in the hotel when we were there all touring and using the hotel as a base

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr Hodgson

Thank you very much for your comments - I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will welcome you back at some time in the future.

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Priory is like home from home( but without doing the dishes :)
Food very good as are the rooms and staff, just had our third visit and it will not be our last.
Beauly is a good spot to allow you to explore the Western Highlands and Inverness areas and the town its self has a few shops, bank and restaurants, not to mention the gift shops.

Room Tip: Room 7 is very comfy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Glad you enjoyed your stay
Hopefully will see you back at The Priory

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here maybe 12 years ago, and I can actually still remember how good the steak was back then.

This time a colleague and I had to visit some customers in Inverness so it was a good opportunity to revisit and see if my memories were accurate.

The hotel has obviously had a major structural refurbishment in the last dozen years, it is now very open-plan and you get an excellent first impression when you walk inside. The gentleman (assume owner or manager) on the desk welcomed us warmly and after formalities walked us to our rooms explaining on the way about restaurant times etc.

After doing some work and having a shower, I wandered down to the bar to meet my colleague for a pre-dinner drink. I don't generally like hotel bars, they are usually sterile soulless places with nobody in them. This hotel has a proper village pub on the premises full of locals enjoying a pint and there was a pool table and a roaring fire which made it a very pleasant place to be. There is a bistro adjoining the bar and some seriously delicious smells were wafting down, I was very tempted but we really wanted the a la carte restaurant with hopefully a juicy steak.

You'll be pleased to hear the steak was perfect, a good value merlot added to it and a huge plate of cheese afterwards finished me off. Breakfast was freshly cooked, not a hot buffet so the quality was high.

The room was very nice, I don't like those wall mounted soap dispensers in the bathroom but at least the liquid soap inside them seemed good quality. The wifi worked fine with reasonable speed and the tv had full freeview channels. A comfy bed completed the package.

I'll definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area, and I recommend that everyone else does the same.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Owner at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. The soap dispenser is something we are looking into at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

4th time at Priory and many more to come! Staff , rooms, ambience and food first class beautiful setting, spotlessly clean. Would recommend to friends as a relaxing, friendly hotel. Plenty of nearby trips to do. Dingwall and black isle worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimelows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments - they are much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of February to attend a nearby wedding. The welcome was very warm, comfortable room and easy free parking by the hotel. We ate in the hotel 2 evenings and the food and choice was good. The staff were all very efficient and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AscotTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Owner at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
thank you for your kind comments. stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
0.1 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel

Property: Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Hotel High Street, Beauly IV4 7BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel located in the busy village of Beauly. 12 miles west of Inverness The Priory is ideally located for touring the surrounding areas and close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the city of Inverness. Excellent transport links are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing