We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would stay again”
other travelers have booked this property
Cozy sitting room with AGA woodburner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy sitting room with AGA woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Cozy sitting room with AGA woodburner
Lovely warm woodburner after a hard day on the mountains
Lovely quiet bedroom with comfy kingsize bed and ample storage
Fully fitted kitchen area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sunshine2...
1 review
“Would stay again”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Great self contained apartment and within walking distance of the village of Aviemore. Lovely log burning fire for that cosy appeal. Had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay.

Will definitely return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kdfaefarf...
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Retreat”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely little haven, which was very comfortable, cosy and we'll equipped. Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and very well located for exploring the Aviemore area. Thanks Karen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammc90
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy apartment, great location.”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Retreat is an excellent self-catering apartment, it is well stocked with utensils for cooking and logs for burning. We were really impressed to find a fresh loaf of bread, milk, butter and shortbread upon our arrival, it was a really nice touch!

The Retreat is really cosy and perfect for a quiet break from work. It's a short walk from Tesco and a short drive from Cairngorms National Park, so it 's perfect for experiencing the outdoors. We had to cut our stay short unexpectedly, but we both look forward to staying again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little additions like the bread, butter, milk and shortbread, very thoughtful touches!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanic0
1 review
“Clean, modern with friendly owners”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The retreat was excellent value with nice modern and comfortable rooms. The owners were very approachable and friendly. Aviemore is an excellent location to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit - brilliant trip!”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Not only is The Retreat ideally located in Aviemore, but the accommodation is very spacious and well kept - perfect place to come back to after a long day exploring the Cairngorms! David, Lynne and Sue were all extremely welcoming and more than happy to help with anything we asked about. Although the wood-burning stove should not be required at this time of year, we couldn't resist trying it out to heat up after being caught in the rain - only in Scotland!
Amazing trip; and would definitely recommend staying here! I'm sure we will be back :)
Thanks again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing