We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lorna M
Dunure, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This house was absolutely ideal for our party of 13. It is very spacious and had plenty of bathrooms. It was a great price. Very clean and very well stocked with cups, plates, cooking utensils, etc. Within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, etc. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Hi Lorna,
Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review. We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the house had everything you needed. We try to make it a 'home form home'.
Come back soon!
Rosie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4024anna
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large well equipped house in great location”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked this house when organising my best friends hen weekend. The house was in a great location and was a great size. Equipped with everything we needed for a long weekend, with plenty space for 12 of us. Great big dining room, and loads of beds and bathrooms, very comfortable and spacious. Although large, the house was loverly and warm and had a nice traditional feel to it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
We're pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything you needed. Hope the wedding goes well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart232...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Avimore”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Most comfortable with best location in Avimore. I have stayed here 3 times now and will only book this property for a stay in Avimore. Clean, fresh, warm. A pub two doors down and a great breakfast cafe across the road. Well priced. Will be booking again soon. Don't waste your money book this property

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
I don't know how to respond to your review - wow! Thank you for your kind comments. We would love to have you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
1 review
“Perfect grand house with loads of space for large groups”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked up the house for a large group and it was exactly what we needed. Loads of space so we weren't falling over each other, everyone had a bed, loads of space to cook and eat.

Activities and shops are so close which was ideal for getting the big shop in and going out for some beers later on. Highly recommend the house if you are a big group!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay wiith us and found the house to be perfect for your needs. It is definitely a great location for all the amenities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable house for a multi-family group”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Shelter Stone is in a very convenient location within Aviemore and for exploring the beautiful local area. The house itself was both spacious and comfortable with plenty of room for our three-family group of 6 adults and 7 children. It was great to be in a rental house which was so well equipped with everything from cutlery and glasses to pillows to family games. A great stay and we would definitely recommend The Shelter Stone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and very pleased you found the house to have everything you needed. We hope you come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EwanJohns...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic house in fantastic location”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

There was 13 of us staying in the house and was plenty of space across the living room and dinging room for everyone. As it was nice, we also managed to do a BBQ one day (BBQ equipment in garage). House is perfectly located within walking distance of all central Aviemore shops and restaurants and also walking distance to the Cairngorm Brewery.

There was plenty of parking out front, we had a minibus and six cars which fitted in and there is some extra space round the back too.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Thanks for leaving a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was favourable. The garden is perfect for a BBQ when the weather is kind. Don't forget to take advantage of our come back soon offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent holiday rental in a good location.”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Large group with multiple children stayed here for a long weekend. Even with poor weather we had an enjoyable stay, house had games for the kids and was well equipped. Was warm throughout the stay even without a fire going and there was always enough hot water for everyone.

Would happily come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at a The Shelter Stone. It's always handy to have rainy day games! We hope to have you stay with us again. Remember to use your 'come back soon' discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing