We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large spacious warm house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
retiree19...
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large spacious warm house”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a very spacious house ideal for large or extended families. It was lovely and warm when we booked in and during our stay. Situated in the middle of Aviemore and within walking distance to the station and all restaurants, pubs etc. It had everything we wanted and our contact with the owner was very pleasant. The only down side was the noise from the traffic in the front bedrooms

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Shelter Stone. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“weekend break”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have often rented chalets or houses in Aviemore but required something larger for a family and friends weekend, the stone shelter offered the accommodation and was excellently presented. A bonus was the location right in the middle of town. I would highly recommend this to anyone with large numbers.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2016
We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Shelter Stone. Thanks for choosing to spend your weekend with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjkin...
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was looking for a house to stay at for a few days in Aviemore with accommodation for 11 people. This house was just the ticket. Fantastic location right in the centre of Aviemore close to all the shops, restaurants and train station. Set back from the road with ample parking for 4 or 5 cars. Plenty of room for everyone. Owner was very friendly and helpful throughout and will certainly stay here again when revisiting if available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: Lack of ensuite for a couple of the rooms but there were 11 of us
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Shelter Stone. Thanks for your kind review and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawzone
1 review
“Lots of space and great central location”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Perfect for our base during the expedition. Lots of large rooms so we never felt on top of one another. Kitchen was great and lots of bathrooms! Would definitely return

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
We're really pleased to hear The Shelter Stone made the perfect base for you and do hope you return soon.

Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R
1 review
“Perfect holiday with friends and family”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent two weeks of our holiday in Scotland at The Shelter Stone and had a great time there. We used all available beds as we were 13 people and a baby and still had plenty of space to enjoy a very relaxed time. The house was clean and well prepared at the time of or arriving and all previous contact with Rosie was perfect. Due to its two floors, great kitchen (with loads of cooking staff in a good condition!), big dining room and cozy living room as well as the perfect location in central Aviemore, this house is just perfect for a hiking trip to the Cairngorms in a bigger group! Very much recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
We are so glad to hear you had a fabulous holiday at The Shelter Stone enjoying the mountains. Thank you for your lovely review. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb space to relax with friends and family”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just enjoyed a wonderful long weekend with friends at the excellent Shelter Stone. Plenty of space in bedrooms and common areas and yet also cosy with warm fires. Located perfectly for all Aviemore has to offer. Everything we needed in kitchen was available, great dining space plenty big enough for us all to share. Very much recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thanks for the fab review Clive M. So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Shelter Stone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeordieSc...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Really good large house in the centre of Aviemore. Big bedrooms, many ensuite, large public rooms with nice fire in living room. Plenty parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay GeordieScotDad! We hope you choose to come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing