We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
35liz35
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great House!”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were 2 families with 4 children under 12. We had a fab holiday. The house was great and the fire was lovely and warm!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thank you for review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. There's something lovely about an open fire isn't there?! We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki M
1 review
“Fantastic house for a group of friends or families in the centre of Aviemore”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Great house really close to central Aviemore. We had a great long weekend away with several friends and their small children in October. The house is very spacious with plenty of living space and a large dining room where we could all eat together. The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable and the house was lovely and cosy. The kitchen was well kitted out and we enjoyed doing a mixture of cooking in the house and eating out in Aviemore. Would thoroughly recommend this house. We will be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you visit again this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kegaline1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge house - ideal spot”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here with a group of friends and 4 young children for a long weekend.

The house was really well proportioned, all good sized bedrooms. Fab dining room with plenty space for everyone to sit down and eat together - always a must have for us on holiday. Great kitchen with big fridge and oven for group cooking. Plenty comfy seating for everyone in the lounge.

House was cozy and warm which I'm always worried about in Scotland.

Great spot - quiet at night but still close to walk to the town centre.

Owners were really helpful with all our pre holiday questions.

Really enjoyed our stay from start to finish. Hope we can make it back one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C
1 review
“Wonderful place to relax for large groups or families”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This fabulous old house with lots of period features and modern conveniences is ideal for large families or groups. There was plenty of space for everyone to sit and eat together or have space to themselves (a must in our family). A common cause of arguments when we go away is fighting over the showers, but that wasn't a problem with lots of bathrooms throughout the house.

The beauty of Aviemore and the surrounding area speaks for itself with lots of outdoor activities to enjoy all year round. We were pleasantly surprised to wake up in the morning and find a stunning view (from our window) of the snow-capped Cairngorms. We had a lot planned for our weekend, so the location of this house was ideal for us. It's on the main road and only a couple of minutes walk from the train station and town centre.

A real gem in one of my favourite parts of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the space and the great location
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Shelter Stone and hope you visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay a
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great for families/groups, excellent location”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful old property with modern interior and lots of space to relax. Great for family groups, with lovely dining room and cosy open fire in the lounge. Fantastic location 5 mins walk from the centre. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: No coffee maker!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
Hi Kay,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Don't forget to use your 'come back soon' discount when you re-book.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Rosie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidia O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Hi Nidia,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased the house suited you and you had a pleasant stay. The house is nice and spacious for groups.
I have just been made aware that some of the pans have been dented and will get them replaced as soon as possible. We're redecorating the bedrooms this month, so you will notice a difference when you come again!
Rosie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing