We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Burgers!”

Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant Burgers!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We ate here whilst on holiday and the food was superb. The burgers are really good and come with a great variety of toppings. The staff are really friendly and the service is also very good and we always make this one of our first choices when we are in Aviemore on holiday. We always head downstairs as we like the atmosphere, there is a real buzz about the place, even mid week in May. Would highly recommend the Ski-ing Doo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    179
    69
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just three !”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Soup for starter was nice, I ordered the haddock for my main as did one of my friends, unfortunately it was the frozen variety and not fresh fish ! At £7.95 one of the cheapest main courses on the menu, frozen was probably the reason why, very disappointing, it was okay but nothing you couldn't make at home for a couple of quid in 5 mins. My other friends opted for burgers, which they enjoyed. Service was very good. I would possibly go back if I wanted a burger but I would definitely give the haddock a miss ! In general, meals do seem approx 30% more expensive than back in the north east, to be expected I suppose in a holiday resort. Three stars, just ! For the friendly staff, the service and the burgers !

Helpful?
Thank Johnr3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Evening meal”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely staff. Great food. The bar was down stiars so you could go for a drink after your meal so othe waiting gurest could eat

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“customer service missing”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I ordered a steak panini and my husband got tuna Mayo, don't get me wrong what was edible was lovely, unfortunately most of the steak was chewy and when asked how my meal was and I let them know I was still charged the full price and no apology, not the kind of service that should have been provided. I would go elsewhere if wanting steak, better places around. Meal cost £16 and I had 2 bites of decent steak.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Feels like being in a ski cafe in the alps”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great wee place. Nice and different for a change. Food wise, we just had snacks but it's massive portions and pretty reasonable. Nice staff and an all round good atmosphere. Would love to come here for a drink after being on the slopes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank willow731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing