We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Gluten Free Food”

The Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent for Gluten Free Food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I visited Aviemore in May 2014 and ate in the Cairngorm Hotel. When I explained I had Coeliac disease they brought me a Gluten Free (GF) menu. I can't describe how useful this was. To be able to read a full menu and order from it without the need to ask several questions and negotiate meal made me feel like ant other customer. Well done to the Cairngorm Hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    403
    115
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannanshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want to eat in a hurry this is the place to be.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Food was ok but we felt pressured to eat up and get out. The waiter was rushing around far too much. No need for it. We weren't offered desert menu and the bill was placed underneath my spectacle case as he was clearing the table. I nearly told him to eff off. We didn't move for another 15 minutes much to his annoyance as the restaurant was busy. Won't be going back for a meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere; very good food, great service”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Dinner here with a group of friends while travelling through Scotland. Had previously stopped in for dessert, but managed to get in early enough this time for dinner. Skipped starters and went straight for mains - hoping to leave room for dessert again. Huge portions, very tasty and all good quality food. So good that we didn't have any room for dessert! Atmosphere was good away from the bar; but service was excellent - our waiter was friendly, had great advice and was efficient. And importantly, everything came to the table as ordered. Prices were more than reasonable for a resort style location, and the pub was authentic and worth the visit. We would definitely recommend and stop in again when next we visit Aviemore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lunch and a pint”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The soups and sandwiches were very good as was the beer. Sky Sports was available. I would recommend the Coronation Chicken.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal in Aviemore”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Three of us stayed in the excellent-value-for-money YHA in Aviemore but did not want to self-cater or go to a chip shop, burger bar or similar. In fact we wanted something of a treat at the start of a scuba diving trip to Orkney. We decided on the Cairngorm Hotel in advance having looked at their menu on the internet and it came up to our expectations. It was all rather "Scottish" and quaint with fresh-caught haggis but the food was pleasant and good value for money. The wine list is a little limited but there's a good selection of local beers if you prefer. Service was very prompt indeed. The ambience was a bit dark and dour but that's probably rather Scottish too. Free Wi-Fi is available but slow and unreliable but who cares, it was still a good choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GavinusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing