We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly”

The Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all I should say that the food is not exactly haute cuisine more cook style than chef. Having said that the menu is extensive catering for all tastes and the food is tasty and plenty of it (not a place with a little food in the middle of the plate and lots of coloured squiggly lines on it). The prices are reasonable for a place like Aviemore. The service is efficient but friendly and helpful. The bar is old fashioned (good) and not one of those plastic places with plastic staff. Overall very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    397
    114
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best food and choice in aviemore by a distance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Always stay here when in aviemore for shooting and eat here when not at royal tandoori
The breakfast lunch and dinner here is great value from a huge menu
The menu is enormous but the food comes out fast and freshly cooked every time
Great staff as well - always friendly and ready to please

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank croftScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“welcoming customer-friendly approach,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

we went here on our honeymoon while in Inverness

we only had drinks here so really don't now how the meals are.

All the staff, without exception, had an impeccable and welcoming customer-friendly approach,

good range of drinks so we where happy to stay a few hours

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mumof3burnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Soup-tastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Popped in for lunch, fish and chips for myself was a little on the 'had it a thousand times' but it was good, my wife's macaroni and chips was tasty but huge.

Have a soup, you must have a soup at the restaurant, i beg of you have a soup. We both had the cream of curried parsnip soup, now its a bit of a mouthful to say but a wonderful soup to taste. If i'd not been in polite surroundings i may just have picked up the bowl and licked it clean.

Oh, just in case you missed it, HAVE THE SOUP.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the Soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here for a bit of luch, we all had the soup, piping hot and so thick your spoon would stand
up in it......

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing