We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional Scottish pub”

The Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice traditional Scottish pub”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very nice pub area with outdoor seating.
Price for drinks was very reasonable.
Chap playing the bagpipes outside when we arrived and a traditional Scottish band p[laying in the evening.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontourforcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    421
    118
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and the food was fine”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stopped in here for a bar supper on a really hot June evening; two adults and one toddler. The old part of the hotel is a lovely building with lots of historic character, and now that Aviemore is seeing a resurgence of popularity they are extending all over the place. We were seated in the conservatory which was open and, despite the weather, not overly hot.

All of the food arrived very quickly and the service was very good despite the place being packed to the gunnels. My burger was thick and juicy with fresh crisp salad. Our daughter's macaroni cheese appeared to be home made and was made with strong mature cheddar. The downside was my wife's meat with a yorkshire pudding; the meat was rather dry and she was a little disappointed. With that one caveat the food is probably best described as above average for a bar supper. We would certainly go again and it is a cut above any of the other outlets we have been to in the centre of Aviemore.

For the warm weather there was seating outside but this appeared to be drinks only and not food. It is possible that there is food served outside earlier in the day, but I didn't get that impression when I asked if we could sit out.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBegbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value, food and service”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Just dined here again on a weekend break in Aviemore and on both nights we had a lovely time. The food is not quite to Michelin standard but there is a varied menu which is well cooked and generously portioned. There is something for everyone. Service is efficient and friendly and we will definitely be dining here again on our next visit to Aviemore.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Place and Great Service”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I am usually a bit nervous about Hotel Restaurants but not this place, hence repeat visit during our weeks stay in Aviemore.
Great staff friendly and very well organised even when busy. Huge choice, too much almost on menu. Good portions and great house wine. Nice to have background music, Scottish, as some restaurants are too quiet.
Brilliant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamishthehedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

cairngorm hotel good value for money, plenty of choice and good menu for familys

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kez1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing