We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Living Room
Lounge
Front View of No14 Railway Terrace. Ample free parking
Kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine
View of dining area and lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Rear view of No14 Railway Terrace
Upstairs Master Bedroom, king size bed
Upstairs Double Bedroom, double size bed
Downstairs bunk room
Back Patio Area
Shower room. Toilet is in separate room
View from top of stairs
View of Cairngorms from master bedroom
Lounge and dining room
The cosy stove
The view from the master bedroom
Christmas at No14..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarolineH...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2016 and loved the cottage. It was spacious and comfortable. It had a lovely patio with sliding door and we got to sit out as it was warm enough. The kitchen is well equipped and has a big fridge/freezer (we are thinking of coming back next year with our 2 grandsons). The Highland MacKenzie Inn is now dog friendly so that makes 2 pubs you can take the dog and enjoy a drink or a meal (the other being The Old Bridge Inn). Do not be put off by the fact the railway is behind the cottage the noise is minimal and they stop around 10:30pm - only noticed 2 or 3 the whole stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The large kitchen/dining area opening on to the patio
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Hi folks, thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting your visit and you were great guests. We'd love to welcome you back next year...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor J...
2 reviews
“Comfortable and well equipped in an interesting location.”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The property was welcoming and made us feel relaxed and at home. It was well placed for the places we wanted to visit and convenient for shops. It was well equipped and heating, if needed, was available.We enjoyed watching the trains and engines passing by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All good
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2016
Thanks for staying folks and the nice review. Come back in the winter and enjoy our cosy wood burner...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Many thanks for the lovely review. We're sorry it was too hot for the fire!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mamoo844
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cottage had everything we needed and was comfortable, cosy, clean and fresh. We especially loved the shower room! The cottage location was down a quiet side street but in easy walking distance of the town. It's near the railway line, but there aren't too many trains, and we soon got used to them. The back garden is suitable for small children and dogs, with easy access via the patio doors. The stairs are quite steep and narrow in places, so might not suit the very young or older people. The kitchen had everything we wanted, including the welcome dishwasher! The owner keeps in touch with you every step of the way, great communication from Graham. The only niggle is that the fridge freezer could do with defrosting, freezer is iced up and the fridge is so cold it froze our tomatoes and mushrooms!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel of the cottage.
Liked least: The fridge froze our food
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Hi folks, thanks for,the review. The fridge freezer was on its last legs and is now at the skip and we've a nice shiny new one, which had better not freeze anything it shouldn't.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M
Sunshine Coast
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fantastic family option in Aviemore”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We recently stayed 5 nights in this lovely cottage and had a fantastic time. It has everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is in a perfect location - Just a short walk to the shops, pubs and train station. The kitchen has everything you need, the heating in the cottage is excellent and the beds are comfortable!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Thanks for the review folks, it was great having you.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H
1 review
“Everything you would want in a holiday cottage!”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fantastic stay at Railway Terrace. Cottage had everything you would need inc dishwasher which is always handy with big groups! Also great to have a stove and a healthy and generous supply of wood. Spacious yet cosy, comfy beds and decent shower.

Location wise, couldn't be better. Stroll into town in 2 mins - be at the ski centre in 20mins via car = ideal. Graham was easy to communicate with and extremely helpful in offering advice for good walks in the area. Visit the Cairngorms!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Hi Jamie, many thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“No14 Railway Terrace in the snow, Fantastic!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My Wife & I are regular visitors to Aviemore & are always keen to stay in different locations around the town, & we were not disappointed when we booked No14 Railway Terrace for the first time. On arrival we felt like we were at home, this property has everything you will need to enjoy a short to long holiday.The property is very close to all that Aviemore has to offer, parking was great. We experienced high winds & plenty of snow During our stay in Aviemore, you would not have known it from the inside of this property . The insulation & heating ( including a wood burning Stove) was excellent, & we felt very warm & safe. We will Definitely consider a future stay in this property, & highly recommend it to everyone else looking for a fantastic holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2016
Thanks for the review folks, good to hear you mastered the Stove!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing